Amouraq, the final chapter

XAVIER

What the-? I didn’t do

that! What’s going on?

The only door in and out of the room is vaporized by flames in a single second. A giant nymph (who is dressed in red and black, has long red hair with matching eyes, and wearing an angry expression) enters the room. She is the NYMPH QUEEN of evil, and her appearance makes Xavier nervous.

NYMPH QUEEN

I, the Nymph Queen of Evil,

am royally pissed!

XAVIER

Is this about the nymphs

that you lent me?

NYMPH QUEEN

What do you think, you moron!

You promised me that all my

nymphs would return to me

unharmed!

XAVIER

Well, I, uh, I didn’t know

that they would destroy
themselves! I mean, who

could’ve anticipated that?

And, and I never thought

that the stupid cose over

there could possibly-

She throws a fireball at him, but he ducks and it misses him. The room becomes dark and stormy, and the Nymph Queen becomes demon-like. Stephen doesn’t know what to think, and Xavier is scared witless because the Nymph Queen is as furious as possible.

 

NYMPH QUEEN

You lost me my five most

powerful nymphs! You shall

pay with your blood and bones!

The Nymph Queen conjures a ball of light and is about to throw it at Xavier, but he makes himself disappear! The Nymph Queen looks less evil but still seems angry.

NYMPH QUEEN

Noooo! No! No! No! Now I can’t

kill him, and I have no idea

where he is! It would’ve been

perfect; it would’ve been

sweet! Oh well, at least you’re

safe.

STEPHEN

Me? You wanted to protect

me? The one who destroyed

your nymphs? What’s going

on here?

The nymph queen cleverly smiles at him. She snaps both of her fingers, and a cloud of smoke surrounds her while a clap of thunder sounds. When the smoke clears, in the queen’s position is Emily!

STEPHEN

(jaw dropped)

Emily?

EMILY

(smiling broadly)

Sorry I was so late. When

I rolled to escape the

warlocks, I bumped into one

of them, and he dropped my

magic book! I grabbed the

book and wordlessly turned

myself invisible. Yes, it
is possible to do that.

When the warlocks left the

room, I quickly looked

through the magic book and
found a spell that would

change me into whoever I

wanted. I thought for a

second and got the nymph

idea. I heard your cries

and came up to help as

quickly as the Nymph Queen’s

legs could take me!

STEPHEN

(in awe of the brilliance of it)

You have totally perfected

this rescuing thing!

Emily grins at his praise. He weakly tries to get up, so Emily swishes her hand at him, which makes him get up quicker.

STEPHEN

Well, we didn’t get Xavier

but we can take you to King

Patrick. You can be queen

now!

EMILY

Wow, queen. I always knew

I was an heir, but I never

thought…Well, how could I

think I would with so many

heirs in front of me?

(beat)

I don’t think I’m ready for

this!

STEPHEN

(steps towards her)

Trust me, you’re ready for

this, and you’re going to

make a great leader!
Emily flings her arms around him in a tight hug. Stephen hugs her back. After a moment, they feel awkward and let go.

EMILY

Thank you!

STEPHEN

My job’s not done yet, not

until we get Xavier. Speaking

of the devil, let’s get out

of this house immediately!

EMILY

Yeah, I’m with ya.

EXT. THE SWIFT. NIGHT.

The king’s castle (named the Swift), which is made of a light grey stone but is warm and inviting, rests on a grassy knoll. A couple of KNIGHTS (who wear armor with the symbol of Amouraq on their chest) stand guard outside the heavy oak doors. They see Emily and Stephen coming from a distance, but they can’t tell who is coming yet.

KNIGHT 1

Look! Coming out of that

forest! Who are they?

KNIGHT 2

The girl looks kind of

familiar. Wait, why haven’t

I noticed that forest before?

KNIGHT 1

Maybe you should see a

doctor.

KNIGHT 2

No, seriously, have you

seen it before?

KNIGHT 1

Actually, no I haven’t. I

don’t know why I didn’t

notice a large forest right

next to the place I work.

Maybe I should see a doctor.

KNIGHT 2

No, the Swift is located at

the edge of Amouraq Isle. So

why would these two people

emerge from the forest that

never existed?

KNIGHT 1

Wait a minute! Didn’t the

story behind King Alexander

say that after Alexander’s

victory against the Ryder

family, the Ryder family

sealed the forest until

their family chose to release

it?

KNIGHT 2

You think that could be the

forest?

EMILY

(shouts)

It is!

KNIGHT 2

Emily? You’re not dead!

EMILY

Did you think I was?

KNIGHT 1

Well, yes, the news said

that your plane went down.

So, Xavier was in there?

STEPHEN

Yes, mystery solved. Xavier

killed the other heirs and

had a brilliant idea of

hiding in a forest that no

one could find. He didn’t

lock it up again before he

got away. Don’t worry, we’ll

catch him. Emily and I got

through this, and now she’s

ready to take her place as

queen!

KNIGHT 2

This is great news! King

Patrick is on his deathbed

as we speak, one of your

servants will show you up.

EMILY

Servants?

STEPHEN

Yes, people who serve you,

the queen of Amouraq.

(to the knights)

She’s not used to being

rich and powerful yet.

The two knights chuckle as Stephen and Emily enter the castle.

KNIGHT 1

So, because this forest has

been magically sealed from

the rest of the world for

centuries, if a tree fell in

it, would it make a sound?

The second knight rolls his eyes.

INT. KING PATRICK’S CHAMBERS. NIGHT.

Stephen and Emily were brought to the king’s chambers by SIRIUS, a middle-aged Italian chef of the castle. The chambers was a room with a canopy bed draped in scarlet with matching curtains. There was also a painting of King Alexander, the king himself, and a map of Amouraq on the wall. All of the castle servants working that night huddled around his bed. When Stephen and Emily entered the room, CHOLANDA(a portly, African-Amouraqian maid) notices them in the door.

CHOLANDA

Oh good! Stephen and Emily

are here! The king was

hoping to speak to you

before he passed.

Cholanda takes Stephen’s hand, who takes Emily’s hand, and brings them to the king’s bedside. KING PATRICK, despite his weak state, looks to be a strong but kind person. He must have anticipated this moment, for he is wearing an old fashioned kingly garb. When he sees Emily and Stephen’s appearance, he smiles warmly.

KING PATRICK

Oh, thank the God in Heaven that

Amouraq will be okay! Emily, our

future queen, is ready to take my

place. Oh, and you must be the

secret agent I hired to keep her

safe. Amouraq is in great debt to

you.

STEPHEN

Thank you, your highness, it

was a pleasure and honor

serving you, but my job isn’t

done yet, and believe me, I’ll

serve Emily with the same

integrity and conviction.

KING PATRICK

As I foresaw that you would. I

want to say a few words to you

before I die. Emily, when you

take the throne, please rule

with kindness and valor. Keep

Amouraq the sparkling and

solid country that she is.

EMILY

(near tears)

I promise I’ll do the best

I can to uphold the morals

of our past and keep our

future secure. I love Amouraq

and I will try to be a good

queen.

KING PATRICK

You will be a great queen.

Don’t ever lose confidence

in that great heart of yours.

Valid though your fears may

be, and though you may sometimes

be taken by ill chance, I am

confident that your courage and

love will get your through all

of your worries and woes.

(to Stephen)

Stephen Knight, I thank you

for your courage to face

what you have never known,

and I praise your fortitude

for staying to finish your

job. I’m glad you’ll be here

to watch over Emily when I’m

gone. Don’t let her fall into

Xavier’s hands.

STEPHEN

Upon my honor, I promise

that I will protect her.

KING PATRICK

(smiling weakly)

You’re both such brave and

passionate souls. I wish

that I could live long

enough to see the two of

yours’ wedding.

STEPHEN

Wedding? What?

KING PATRICK

I can tell I don’t have much

longer here on Earth, so I

just want to leave telling

how much I love Amouraq and

all of you. My your loyalty

never waiver, and may you

serve Amouraq to guide her

to a future of success and

prosperity. Hard times may

come, but remember that as

long as you remain true to

God and the strength of your

heart, you can overcome any

obstacle. I will watch over

you always. Good-bye!

He makes a noise like a plunger and dies right there. Most of the people in the room are crying, and the rest are very solemn. Cholanda bursts into tears, and Sirius pats her on the back while trying to fight back tears of his own. Some of the servants can’t stand to be in the room anymore and run out crying. Emily has tears dripping down her cheeks, so Stephen gives her a hug. Some clergymen come in to move his body to the church, and everyone watched them leave in tears. They take a moment to remember King Patrick. After an appropriate amount of time, Emily speaks.

EMILY

You may stay or leave, as

your wish. I just need a
room to be made for me.

SIRIUS

We’ll see to at once, your

highness.

EMILY

You don’t need to call

me that, just call me

Emily.

SIRIUS

As you wish.

He, Cholanda, and most of the other servants leave. Wayne (an energetic young servant) stayed to clean King Patrick’s room for the last time. He sees Emily standing there not knowing what to do and speaks to her.

WAYNE

The funeral for King

Patrick is tomorrow, and

he wanted your coronation

ceremony to follow

immediately afterwards.

We’ve had it all ready for

several weeks now because

he knew it was coming.

EMILY

Thank you, uh…

WAYNE

Wayne.

EMILY

Yes, thank you.

She unintentionally gets lost in the paintings on the wall. Stephen goes up to Wayne as he cleans.

STEPHEN

Hey, was King Patrick

actually psychic?

WAYNE

Yeah, he was always

surprisingly accurate.

Wayne watches Stephen raise his eyebrows in thought.

WAYNE

Why?

STEPHEN

No reason.

Stephen goes up to Emily, gives her a hug, and because she seems upset, he walks her out of the room.

 

INT. AMOURAQ CHURCH. MIDDAY.

Amouraq’s biggest cathedral is located in the capital, Beaucoeur. It is made of an old, slightly jagged slate and is decorated in beautiful stained glass windows and gorgeous flowers. The pews are made of an old wood, and there is a red carpet lining the center to the platform, where there is a sermon podium along with King Patrick’s coffin. A large audience and some cameramen watch King Patrick’s funeral. Everyone is wearing black except for Emily (who’s wearing a lavish white dress) and the clergymen, who are also wearing white. After King Patrick’s body was laid to rest, Emily’s coronation ceremony (led by the CARDINAL) begins.

CARDINAL

Emily Rebecca Pageman, will

you please join me on this

platform?

Emily rises and solidly walks over to the platform. She stands next to the cardinal.

CARDINAL

Emily stands where King

Alexander and all of his

descendants have stood and

have taken an oath to the

throne. Emily, are you ready

to take this oath today?

EMILY

I am.

CARDINAL

Please kneel.

Emily kneels before him. The cardinal takes a bejeweled sword and points it on her right shoulder.

CARDINAL

Do you promise to rule with

courage, love, and honor as

the Lord commanded?

EMILY

I do.

The cardinal moves the sword to her left shoulder.

CARDINAL

And do you promise to do

your best to bring about

peace and goodwill to the

world with your position,

as the Lord commanded.

EMILY

I do.

The cardinal moves the sword back to her right shoulder.

CARDINAL

Finally, do you, Emily,

promise to serve the people

with justice and never sway

your loyalty as the Lord

commanded?

EMILY

I do.

CARDINAL

Please rise, Emily.

Emily stands up facing him. The cardinal hands Emily the sword.

CARDINAL

Now please face the people

you are about to serve.

Emily faces the people seated in the church. She sees Amelia dripping in tears, the servants looking proud, and Stephen with a mixture of both. The cardinal brings a golden crown with red velvet and green jewels. He steps onto a small step above Emily and holds the crown over her head.

CARDINAL

With this vow, Emily is

now ready to rule with the

values of the Lord that

will enable her to be the

strongest, wisest, and most

kind leader in her power. I

now place this crown on your

head and proclaim to the

world that you are now

officially and legally leader

of Amouraq in the eyes of God

and your humble servants who

bear witness to this today.

Congregation, please kneel

before your queen.

Everyone attending got out of their seats and kneeled down.

CARDINAL

Long live Queen Emily!

CONGREGATION

Long live Queen Emily!

The crowd applauded, and Emily wiped away some tears.

CARDINAL

(can’t help but add)

And may I say happy eighteenth

birthday!

CONGREGATION

Here, here!

Emily chuckles as her friends and family go over to greet her.
EXT. UNKNOWN DARK ROOM. MIDDAY

Xavier has been watching this scene on a television in a completely dark room where the only lights were the television and a small candle. After watching Emily hug her grandmother and Stephen, he angrily turns off the television.

XAVIER

That should’ve been me!

He is now completely shrouded in darkness save for the single candle, giving him an eerie glow.

XAVIER

You think you’re safe and

secure now that you’ve gone

through your coronation

ceremony? Well, I’ve got

news for you and your cose,

sweet cheeks, you have no

idea who I have working for

me, and if I were you, I’d

watch my steps from now on.

Actually, if I were you, I

would just slit my throat

right now. You’re not gonna

like what I have planned.

All I need to do is figure

out how to communicate with

my

 He laughs wickedly and blows out his single candle.

 

INT. SWIFT BALLROOM. AFTERNOON.

A party is going on in the Swift ballroom in honor of Emily’s coronation/birthday. Though people are still mourning King Patrick’s death, they are also celebrating life going on with their new queen. Emily had been talking with Amelia, but she sees Stephen coming over with a package for her and goes over to him to receive it.

STEPHEN

Happy birthday! Here, I

got you a present.

EMILY

Aw, you didn’t have to

do anything! You’ve

already done so much!

Emily opens the package to see a necklace with a silver dragon encircling a golden heart.

EMILY

Wow, it’s beautiful! The

symbol of Amouraq…What a

perfect day to get it!

Thank you!

She gives Stephen a quick hug in thanks.

EMILY

Why are you giving this

to me now? Are you

leaving so soon?

STEPHEN

I’m coming back. I’ve got

a job to do. I’ve just got

to go sign some papers with

the bride of Frankenstein.

He sees Emily giving him a confused look.

STEPHEN

My boss, Pamela.

EMILY

Oh.

(laughs)

So you’re going to abandon

me for a few hours so you

can go to Washington and
sign some papers?

(grins as in a joke)

STEPHEN

How am I supposed to get

to Washington? You know

my plane went down!

They both grin.

STEPHEN

I’ve just got to go receive

a fax, fill out some papers,

and send them back. It shouldn’t

take more than an hour. Besides,

as long as Xavier lives, I’ll

be here to protect you. I would

never abandon such an important

mission.

(beat)

Oh, I’ve been meaning to ask you

something I’ve been curious about…

How did you get those bimbos and

those warlocks to just disappear

like that?

EMILY

Oh. I sent them to the

Valley of the Shadows.

There’s a spell where the

castor can send people of

his or her choosing to a

realm where people are

tortured for eternity.

STEPHEN

Woah! I wonder why Xavier

doesn’t do that.

EMILY

He’d rather torture them

himself.

STEPHEN

Right, that makes sense.

Well, I’d better get

going. Talk to you later,

your highness!

EMILY

I told you not to call

me that! I’m still Emily

to you!

STEPHEN

Ha, ha, right! ‘Bye Emily.

EMILY

‘Bye, Stephen.

Emily returns to her grandmother and shows her the necklace as Stephen starts to leave the party. He watches Emily, noticing that during this whole ordeal, he had forgotten how pretty she is.

STEPHEN

(whispers)

I won’t let anything happen

to you, I promise!

As he exits, Emily watches him and smiles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

servant. 

 

Leave a Reply

