Temca Academy, Part 10

to Magical Media.

INT. ANIELLE’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Annielle is on her bed reading a Magical Business Management book, but she finds it hard to concentrate on it because Circe is listening to some girly pop and dancing, trying to look cool but is way too uncoordinated. At one point, she crashes into Anielle.

ANIELLE:

Um, ow!

CIRCE:

Oh, sorry! You’re so quiet

that I forgot you were here.

ANIELLE:

Yeah…can you put a muffling

spell on that music?

CIRCE:

But without the vibrations, how

will I feel it in my soul? It’s

part of my deep personality, this

song.

ANIELLE:

Deep? What is so deep about…

(imitates singer)

I like air pops! Pop! Pop! Pop!

CIRCE:

Don’t act like your taste in

music is so much better! Like,

the Temple of Isis.

(points to poster)

Their biggest hit was called

Find Yourself. What is that

song even about?

ANIELLE:

Finding yourself.

CIRCE:

Like if you get lost in the woods?

ANIELLE:

No. They’re saying that after you

you break up with someone, it

teaches you how to find a new

identity and have confidence in-

CIRCE:

That’s depressing!

ANIELLE:

Every time you stop doing one

annoying thing, you find two

more ways to annoy me!

CIRCE:

Fine. I’ll go do my homework.

Circe pouts and starts reading. A second later, she screams. Anielle gets up and looks around the room.

ANIELLE:

What happened?

CIRCE:

I got a paper cut!

ANIELLE:

That’s all?

CIRCE:

It really hurt!

ANIELLE:

Here! Take some pain potion.

Anielle tosses her a vial. She drinks it and feels instantly better.

CIRCE:

Ooh, look at all that blood!

She puts her finger in her mouth like it is a cocktail.

ANIELLE:

You know what, you can play

that music. I’m gonna go study

in the lounge.

She gathers her things and quickly leaves the room.

 

INT. COMMONROOM LOUNGE. NIGHT.

Anielle sees the light off and assumes no one is in there. She turns on the lights and sees Joshua in his uniform with a bottle of Yeti Vodka.

ANIELLE:

Oh, you’re here. I’ll go.

JOSHUA:

No, you can stay. I was just

taking my break here.

ANIELLE:

You didn’t drink that whole

bottle tonight, did you?

JOSHUA:

No! I have some self control!

Only half!

ANIELLE:

That doesn’t prove you have

control! You wanna prove it?

Put the bottle down.

JOSHUA:

Why should I?

ANIELLE:

You can’t do it, can you?

JOSHUA:

Oh, you don’t think so?

Joshua gets up and leaves the bottle there.

JOSHUA:

I’m done drinking for the night.

ANIELLE:

Good!

Joshua starts to leave. He finds it odd Anielle influenced him, shrugs, and leaves. Anielle takes a sip of the alcohol and grimaces.

ANIELLE:

Bleck! Why would anyone get

addicted to that?

 

EXT. DOG HOUSE. LATE AFTERNOON.

Anielle sits on the grass with a book while Toci tends to some plants. Anielle hears Toci singing.

ANIELLE:

Is that “Find Youself?”

TOCI:

Singing is good for the plants.

ANIELLE:

Temple of Isis is my favorite

band!

TOCI:

Me too! Wow, we’re too not too

different after all!

ANIELLE:

Well, I don’t sleep with a

different guy every day.

TOCI:

I don’t sleep with a different

guy every day! This week I slept

with…

(counts)

Okay, fine. Maybe I can get you

to like plants.

ANIELLE:

Unlikely.

TOCI:

Well, read this book if you

get bored.

She hands her a book entitled, “How to Heal with Botany.” Anielle looks somewhat interested. George walks by and sees the two girls.

GEORGE:

What? Are you doing homework

on the weekend?

ANIELLE:

No.

TOCI:

I am!

ANIELLE:

Well, I’m reading crime novels.

I know some of the fear mongers,

so I wanna know how to make

murder look like an accident.

They look up in the sky and see a golden bat flying towards them.

ANIELLE:

Oh good, that must be the spy

cameras!

The bat drops the package on her lap and flies away. Anielle opens it and hands them off to George and Toci.

TOCI:

Wow, we just attach it to our

legs, and it blends in with

our clothes. No one would know

what we’re doing if we touch

our leg really quick! After we

take pictures of the campus, can

I use them in the men’s shower?

ANIELLE:

I guess I better go give this one

to Joshua.

GEORGE:

Be nice to him, for once!

ANIELLE:

I will if he does. God, I don’t

know what his problem is?

TOCI:

Isn’t it obvious? You bicker

because you’re covering up

your secret desires to sleep

with him!

ANIELLE:

What? You’re out of your mind!

GEORGE:

I agree. It’s like watching

two kids hexing each other on

the playground.

ANIELLE:

I have never thought about him

in that way!

TOCI:

Outloud.

ANIELLE:

Excuse me, but I do have a

boyfriend!

GEORGE:

So? You can still fantasize!

ANIELLE:

Oh please! I can do better! And

I have, with Peter. I’m going to

give the boy-I’m-not-attracted-to

his spy camera!

Anielle leaves. Toci and George secretly and curiously follow her.

Leave a Reply

