Temca Academy, Part 15

INT. TIA ROSA’S APT. NOON.

TIA ROSA (a pudgy, middle aged Cuban woman) answers the door and sees Anielle.

TIA ROSA:

You must be Anielle! Where’s Toci?

ANIELLE:

She ran off with some no-ma men.

TIA ROSA:

Yeah, she does that. I’m her Tia

Rosa. I’d introduce you to my

husband, Victor, but he’s busy

cleaning the bathroom.

ANIELLE:

That’s nice of him.

TIA ROSA:

Ha! I told him I’d do whatever

he wants in the bedroom if he

took over my job of cleaning

the whole house. He thought it’d

be easy!

(laughs)

Let me get you some lunch.

Tia Rosa goes into the kitchen. George walks into the apartment carrying a nineteen inch, non-magical television.

GEORGE:

Oh, hi! Look what I got!

ANIELLE:

A plastic box?

GEORGE:

It’s a non-magical television.

This man that looks like a cat

sold it to me for ten dollars!

That’s like five pieces! I’m

totally taking this back to Temca!

ANIELLE:

You know, he sold it to you so

cheap ‘cause he probably stole it.

George had not considered this. He thinks about it and then shrugs.

GEORGE:

I thought the others would be

with you.

ANIELLE:

Toci ran off with some no-ma

boys, and Joshua went with some

free hugs people.

GEORGE:

Free hugs? Is there somewhere

you pay for hugs?

ANIELLE:

I don’t know. Both of them are

just flirting with the people

they ran off with. I expect that

from Toci, but Joshua disappoints me.

GEORGE:

I can see why you’d be jealous…

ANIELLE:

That’s not why I’m angry at all!

GEORGE:

Riiight. Anyways, after lunch,

you can finish the strip and I’ll

look downtown. Is that cool?

ANIELLE:

Whatever.

Anielle kind of pouts as Tia Rosa brings out lunch.

 

INT. CHOCOLATE HEAVEN. LATE AFTERNOON.

In the small shopping area inside the Riviera hotel, Anielle is looking around for Ebony. She sees a bunch of women gathered outside a chocolate shop where THOMAS (a hunky man wearing a sexy angel costume) is handing out free samples of chocolate.

THOMAS:

Free sample?

ANIELLE:

I don’t candy from strangers,

especially half naked strangers.

THOMAS:

(laughs)

I sell the chocolate too. It’s

just a marketing gimmick. I

found no one buys more chocolate

than lonely women!

ANIELLE:

That’s crazy!

She starts to walk away when a paper airplane comes to her. It was a quick note from Joshua, saying he would spend the night with the free love colony. Thomas comes over and sees the note. Anielle angrily takes some chocolate.

INT. FOUR QUEEN’S BAR. LATE AFTERNOON.

George goes into a bar looking for Ebony. The bartender looks at him impatiently.

BARTENDER:

Can I get you something?

GEORGE:

I’m just looking.

BARTENDER:

Either order a drink or get out.

GEORGE:

I’m not familiar with these

drinks. Um…wine.

BARTENDER:

What kind? Merlot? Zinfadel?

Wild berry? Watermelon?

GEORGE:

Watermelon.

The bartender pours him a glass, and George drinks it.

GEORGE:

Wow, this is delicious! Keep

them coming!

He sees some Mexican men nearby laughing.

GEORGE:

Have you tried this? A round of

watermelon wine for everyone!

The men cheer and join him.

 

INT. CHOCOLATE HEAVEN. EVENING.

Anielle eats from a box of chocolate while she talks to Thomas.

ANIELLE:

Every time I think we’re getting

along better, he does another

mean thing.

She finishes the box and throws it on to another pile. Thomas hands her another box, and she hands him a ten dollar bill. She starts eating again.

ANIELLE:

He’s a jerk! Once in a while, I

see his nice side, but it never

lasts long. Why would he want to

hurt me?

THOMAS:

This reminds me of this time my

boyfriend felt jealous of one of

my coworkers, so he starting

flirting with some Chippendale.

He said it was revenge for me

flirting with Rafael.

ANIELLE:

So, you’re saying he’s hurting

my feelings because he likes me?

THOMAS:

It’s his way of seeing how much

you like him.

ANIELLE:

Because I’ve indicated that I

wouldn’t leave Peter for him.

THOMAS:

Why not?

Anielle cannot think of an answer. The non-magical phone that Anielle borrowed rings. She answers it.

ANIELLE:

Hello?

 

EXT. HISPANIC NEIGHBORHOOD. EVENING.

George is in a neighborhood full of Hispanic people, who are looking at him strangely as he gets hysterical.

GEORGE:

You answered! Toci couldn’t hear

me over some music, and I think

Joshua pawned his cell phone.

ANIELLE (O.S.):

Aw, I’m your last resort!

GEORGE:

Anielle, you gotta help me! I

think I’m lost in Mexico!

ANIELLE (O.S.):

Have you been drinking?

GEORGE:

I drank a bottle of watermelon

wine and now I’m lost in Mexico!

No one here speaks English! I

don’t know what to do!

An African-American man in street clothes comes around the corner.

GEORGE:

Oh, thank God, a black guy! Hey,

can you tell me how to get back

to the place with all the fancy

hotels?

NO-MA MAN:

Yo, you’s gotta flip a bitch and

get on the cat bus, two three-teen

ta bo-nan-za ta down town. A’ight?

GEORGE:

Oh my God! No one speaks English!

I’m gonna die alone in Mexico!

 

INT. POLICE STATION. NIGHT.

Anielle talks with a policeman.

POLICE:

And then we found him on

Washington Avenue asking a

hooker if she was, and I

quote, “one of those people

you pay for hugs.”

ANIELLE:

Oi! Well, thank you for taking

care of him.

POLICE:

Of course.

The policeman releases George, who has somewhat sobered up.

GEORGE:

Thanks for bailing me out!

ANIELLE:

Don’t thank me; thank the pawn

shop that bought your television!

 

EXT. LAS VEGAS COURTHOUSE. NIGHT.

As George and Anielle leave the police station, Toci, who is wearing a bunch of beads and carrying a bunch of random Vegas stuff, comes up to them.

TOCI:

There you are! Tia Rosa said

you were down here! So, did

you kill Ebony yet?

Anielle cringes.

GEORGE:

Where did you get all those beads?

You know what, don’t tell me!

Joshua suddenly appears from around the corner with the free hugs crowd. Joshua is now wearing a tye-dye shirt and his hair is slicked back and beaded. The free hug people walk towards Anielle, George, and Toci.

ANIELLE:

Technically this could be

counted as assault.

The free hugs people slink back and move on. Joshua stays. Anielle looks at Joshua, George, and Toci and shakes her head.

ANIELLE:

You people disappoint me! You

know damn well that you were out

having fun instead of doing your

job! I’ve been working by myself

all day, and I can’t be the only

one looking for her ‘cause this

place is huge. From now on, we

are sticking together to look for

her! ‘Cause it’s not like a clue

to her whereabouts is gonna fall

from the sky!

Right after she says that, a giant dragon flies down onto the nearby Fremont Street.

ANIELLE:

Or maybe it will. But that doesn’t

excuse your misbehavior!

GEORGE:

Are you kidding? A dragon!

JOSHUA:

Someone’s greatest fear is a

dragon! Aren’t we lucky it wasn’t

another small thing, like fuzz!

TOCI:

Okay, it’s a living creature. If

we can, let’s capture it for a

museum or something!

ANIELLE:

(rolls eyes)

Stop talking! Let’s go slay a dragon!

One thought on “Temca Academy, Part 15

Leave a Reply

