Temca Academy, Part 19

INT. DOG HOUSE. NIGHT.

The party rages on with tons of people. The halls are crowded, and Anielle has trouble moving through the hall. She meets George in the hall.

ANIELLE:

Seen anything yet?

GEORGE:

Yeah, there was this fine Asian

girl and a brunette chick with huge-

ANIELLE:

Really? You think I was asking

about that?

GEORGE:

I heard someone scream once, but

it turned out to be Toci and

some dude.

ANIELLE:

What about Joshua?

GEORGE:

Uhh…

(beat)

Is the punch good? I think

I’m gonna get some punch. You

want some punch.

ANIELLE:

Is he drinking?

GEORGE:

Nah, there’s a girl…

ANIELLE:

So? I have a boyfriend. It’s

about time he got some action.

GEORGE:

Okay, well, turn around.

Anielle turns and sees Joshua flirting with Circe. She gets mad and throws a shoe at him.

JOSHUA:

What was that for?

ANIELLE:

Have you been drinking?

JOSHUA:

Just one glass.

Anielle becomes furious and goes into a nearby bathroom.

GEORGE:

Wait! That’s the men’s room!

He follows her in.

 

INT. MEN’S ROOM. NIGHT.

The bathroom is surprisingly empty. Anielle braces herself over the sink. She is avoiding crying and looks a little frightened. George enters.

ANIELLE:

I was making him better, and

now he’s going back to alcohol.

He’s supposed to be working, and

he’s flirting!

GEORGE:

Toci drank more and is having

sex. Stop all this denial! It

doesn’t matter if you wanna act

on the feelings or not, you have

a crush on Joshua! You wouldn’t

react like this if you didn’t!

Anielle thinks about it for a moment, ready to deny it, but she analyzes her feelings and realizes that he is right. She collapses onto the sink and cries. George awkwardly gives her a hug.

ANIELLE:

Why? Why does it have to be

him? Why don’t I feel like

this about Peter?

GEORGE:

I don’t know. Who knows why

anyone likes anyone! Like, why

do I like Asian chicks? I just

think they’re hot! But you

probably like him for deeper

reasons.

(beat)

Hmm…Whenever I was upset, my dad

used to tell me, “Stop being a

baby and do your job!” Now that

I think about it, it shouldn’t

have made me feel better. Prolly

why my parents divorced.

(beat)

I’m not very good at this. I wanna

make you feel better because you’re

my friend, but I have no idea what

to say.

Kristof mysteriously emerges from a bathroom stall.

KRISTOF:

Perhaps I can help. It is, after

all, my field.

ANIELLE:

You were the one that made Joshua

flirt with Circe!

KRISTOF:

(slyly)

Of course not! He must’ve

done that on his own.

GEORGE:

You made me lose that broom

football game!

KRISTOF:

I wish I could take credit for

that! I mean, I would never

dream of doing such a thing!

ANIELLE:

Wait a minute, what if the little

girl who dropped her doll is a

fear monger?

Kristof makes an odd face.

GEORGE:

Hey, you turned out to be

helpful after all!

KRISTOF:

Excellent! Now, if you’ll

excuse me…

He tries to leave, but George and Anielle draw out their sceptors. Kristof draws out his own scepter. A man walks in and is surprised to see the stand off.

BATHROOM MAN:

Never mind, I can hold it!

The man leaves quickly. Seizing the opportunity, Kristof uses his wand to disarm George and Anielle. Anielle’s scepter ends up breaking. George and Anielle get nervous.

ANIELLE:

You’re not gonna get away with

this! There’s a dorm full of

people!

KRISTOF:

For now. You know, sometimes our

greatest fears are brought on by

nature itself…

Leave a Reply

