Temca Academy, Part 23

INT. COMMON ROOM. EVENING.

Anielle is listening to the Temple of Isis music and reading the plant book Toci gave her. Joshua enters.

JOSHUA:

I have something for you.

I was really bored, and I had

some scrap metal, so here.

He hands her an ornate bracelet.

ANIELLE:

You made this?

JOSHUA:

I know it doesn’t look exactly

like Joseph DaVinci’s…

ANIELLE:

Yes it does! It’ one of the most

thoughtful gifts I’ve ever gotten!

Thank you!

JOSHUA:

You’re welcome.

He looks a little embarrassed. Anielle gives him a hug. He hugs back. They linger a little. They hear someone coming, and they quickly break apart. Peter enters. Joshua leaves but secretly stands in the doorway, watching.

PETER:

Ah, I thought you must be

around here somewhere. I knew

you weren’t in your room since

there was a red x on it.

ANIELLE:

Yeah, that’d be my roommate.

She does that a lot.

PETER:

There is something I wanted to

discuss with you. We’ve been

together for a while, so I feel

like I owe you this.

He brings out an engagement ring. Joshua looks horrified.

PETER:

Will you marry me?

Anielle is stunned. She sees Joshua, who runs out. She wants to go after him, but she knows she has to deal with Peter.

ANIELLE:

Oh Peter, how did we let it

get this far?

PETER:

What do you mean?

ANIELLE:

We fell out of love with each

other a long time ago. I’m a

changed woman now. I think you

should know I’m switching majors.

I don’t want to take over my

dad’s company.

PETER:

What? Why not?

ANIELLE:

It’s not what makes me happy.

Turns out helping people makes

me happy. I have to do what

feels right in my gut. And if

I married you, it’d feel like

I was marrying my brother. No,

brothers and sisters have a

strong relationship. It’d be

like marrying a second cousin

that I only see at family

reunions. I’m sure my dad will

give you the company. And if

you’re like him, the only

relationship that will last is

one where you both work together.

PETER:

Actually, I kind of like my

secretary, but I never acted

on it ‘cause I didn’t wanna be

that guy. Do you have someone else?

ANIELLE:

Kind of. I just think we both

deserve a chance at happiness,

and I don’t think we’re right

for each other.

PETER:

I was so sure this is what I

wanted, but you’re so right!

ANIELLE:

Friends?

PETER:

Always.

They hug each other amicably, and then Peter leaves.

 

EXT. DOG HOUSE. NIGHT.

Anielle comes out to meet with Toci, who is gardening.

TOCI:

How’d it go?

ANIELLE:

We agreed to stay friends. I

knew he’d take it well; it’s

my dad I’m worried about.

(beat)

Where’s Joshua?

TOCI:

He went to the store.

(beat)

You’re probably wondering why

I’m gardening at night.

ANIELLE:

Well, that looks like a skycadma,

which is harvested under a full

moon. It’s used to rid the body

of certain toxins.

TOCI:

You’ve been reading my plant

book! Can I tempt you to

switch to my major?

ANIELLE:

No.

From out of the shadows, Babelsama appears.

BABELSAMA:

Well, well, well! If

it isn’t Jeze and Bell!

They draw their scepters (Anielle’s new one is less ornate but looks more powerful).

BABELSAMA:

You’ve won the battle, but

you won’t win the war! I can

still act like a fear monger,

but not from the comfort of

my living room!

TOCI:

Can you stop acting like a

douche? We don’t wanna hurt you.

BABELSAMA:

Then just let me take over! I’ll

give you cushy jobs! How would

you like to be secretary of fiestas?

TOCI:

How dare you!

Babelsama hears someone in the distance and disappears. It turns out to be Circe.

CIRCE:

(to herself)

Come on, turn into a bat! I

know I can! I almost did it

once!

She enters the Dog House.

ANIELLE:

Talk about bats!

Thunder claps and lightning bolts.

 

INT. DOG HOUSE. NIGHT.

George is looking around the hall for them. He is relieved to see Toci and Anielle at the door.

GEORGE:

Where have you-?

ANIELLE:

Get out of the way!

George steps out of the way quickly. Anielle puts a spell on the door. A bunch of hooded men slam into the wall.

TOCI:

Yeah, Babelsama has henchmen.

GEORGE:

Oh good. I was hoping this wasn’t

going to be too easy. Listen, I’m

a little worried about Joshua. He’s

in his room, but he won’t answer my

messages or the door.

Anielle’s intuition tells her something is wrong. She runs to his room. George and Toci follow.

Leave a Reply

