The Fair Maiden Calina, Part 3

INT. UNDERWORLD HALL.

 

The same freaks that teased her as a child now (though aged ten years) tease her again now. Calina says nothing.

 

 

 

 

 

INT. GUTHRAN’S LIVING ROOM.

 

Guthran (who has also aged ten years) comes limping out of his bedroom upon Calina’s entrance. Calina takes a pair of socks out of her cloak pockets and hands it to him.

 

CALINA:

 

Here you go, Sir.

 

 

 

GUTHRAN:

 

What took you so long?

 

Are you so stupid you

 

forgot the place you’ve

 

been going for the past

 

ten years?

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

The tailor was behind

 

on his orders.

 

 

 

GUTHRAN:

 

Behind on his orders? Did

 

you forget to tell him how

 

important I am, or am I

 

not important to you?

 

 

 

He gets mad and throws his shoe at her.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

Don’t forget, you come of

 

age in a couple of months!

 

I will not tolerate this

 

nonsense when you are my

 

wife! Now, get to work!

 

 

 

Calina hastily starts to dust his furniture. Roland, Patricia, and Tenton enter.

 

TENTON:

 

Yelling at your ugly

 

hag again?

 

 

 

GUTHRAN:

 

I will not tolerate dis-

 

respect from someone I

 

love!

 

 

 

PATRICIA:

 

So, right now, she cooks for

 

you, cleans for you…what

 

will change once you get

 

married?

 

 

 

GUTHRAN:

 

After we wed, we will

 

make love and she will

 

bear my children.

 

 

 

Calina, who was dusting a shelf, is so shocked by the sting of that answer that she gets up, forgetting that she has another shelf above her and hits her head really hard.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

You clumsy oaf!

 

 

 

Calina feels blood on her head.

 

ROLAND:

 

She looks hurt pretty bad.

 

You had better send her to

 

the doctor’s office.

 

 

 

Calina grabs her cloak. Guthran throws some coins at her.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

That’s for the doctor!

 

 

 

He throws more coins at her.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

And that’s for the blood

 

you’re going to get on

 

that cloak.

 

 

 

Calina scrambles to collect the rest of the money.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

See how much your clumsy

 

ways has cost me! Buy

 

another cloak so no one

 

sees your ugly face. Go!

 

 

 

Calina leaves.

 

 

 

 

 

EXT. VILLAGE ROAD. AFTERNOON.

 

Calina (with bandage on her head) walks down the street full of guilt. She is so wrapt up in thought that she walks right into a white horse. She falls to the ground. The person on the horse, PRINCE LIAM (a man Calina’s age with sandy brown hair, dark green eyes, and medium toned skin) gets down to tend to her.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Are you alright?

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

I’m so sorry I walked

 

into your horse! I’m

 

just so stupid and clumsy!

 

I…

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Woah, stop apologizing! I

 

walked through without looking.

 

It’s my fault. Let me help

 

you up.

 

 

 

He extends his hand, and Calina cautiously takes it. She does not realize that her hood comes off.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Wow!

 

 

 

Calina notices her hood is off.

 

CALINA:

 

Oh no! My hood! I’m

 

sorry you had to see

 

my ugly face!

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Ugly? You’re one of the

 

fairest maidens I’ve ever

 

seen!

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

Don’t mock me!

 

 

 

She runs away.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Wait!

Leave a Reply

