The Fair Maiden Calina, Part 5

 

EXT. ORCHARD. MORNING.

 

Calina finishes a book and starts to cry.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Do you always come here

 

to cry?

 

 

 

Calina is startled and gets up to leave.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

I have a book for you.

 

 

 

Curious, Calina goes to look. She picks it up and looks at the title page.

 

CALINA:

 

Where is the title?

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

I haven’t thought of one

 

yet. Perhaps you can think

 

of one for me.

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

You’re an author?

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Yes. I haven’t sent anything

 

to the public yet. After I

 

hear your opinion, I will

 

consider it.

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

Wow, thank you.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

So, I will return here to-

 

morrow to see your opinion

 

so far.

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

Tomorrow? I’ll have to think

 

of an excuse to come out

 

tomorrow.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Wait, before you go, can I

 

please know your name?

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

He told me not to tell

 

anyone.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

How would he know? He

 

never comes out here.

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

That’s a good point.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

What harm could it possibly

 

do to tell people your name?

 

 

 

CALINA:

 

It’s Calina.

 

 

 

She blushes furiously and leaves hastily.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Until tomorrow, Calina.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INT. DINING HALL. NIGHT.

 

King Braham sits at the head of the table but dines amongst his servants. It is a large but fairly friendly room, and the table has a myriad of food. Prince Liam enters and sits next to King Braham.

 

KING BRAHAM:

 

Prince Liam! Welcome! Please,

 

help yourself to whatever’s

 

left.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Thank you. Where is your

 

Queen Erycine?

 

 

 

KING BRAHAM:

 

Still looking for our baby.

 

She swears that someone

 

kidnapped her and raised her

 

as their own, so she’s

 

been searching all over the

 

world for her. Right now,

 

she’s south in Africa.

 

But she’ll be home in a

 

couple of months. We

 

still celebrate her birthday

 

throughout the kingdom.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

I wonder if Calina would

 

want to attend.

 

 

 

KNIGHT 1:

 

Who is Calina?

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

The Orphan of the Under-

 

world. She told me this

 

morning.

 

 

 

The table went silent.

 

SERVANT 1:

 

She talked to you?

 

 

 

SERVANT 2:

 

And told you her name?

 

 

 

KNIGHT 2:

 

Did she show you her face?

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

I’ve seen her face. Her

 

eyes look so familiar to me,

 

I don’t know why. However,

 

I know that she likes books,

 

so if I keep bringing her

 

some of my writing, perhaps,

 

she’ll open up to me a little

 

more. I know it probably

 

doesn’t make sense, but I’m

 

intrigued by her.

 

 

 

KING BRAHAM:

 

You said yesterday because

 

she is so different. Why is

 

she different? Because she’s

 

not throwing herself at your

 

feet?

 

 

 

The servants and knights laugh.

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

I think that’s part of it.

 

 

 

KNIGHT 3:

 

I think it’s the chase.

 

Knight or not, men like to

 

conquer. Wooing her would

 

be a true accomplishment.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

Yes, that’s true. I feel like

 

I’d really connect with her,

 

you know. I don’t know,

 

something in my instincts

 

says this is the way to go.

 

 

 

SERVANT 3:

 

If you think she could be

 

the one, then take this

 

necklace.

 

 

 

He removes a necklace from his neck and hands it to Prince Liam. It is a simple heart pendant made from scrap metal but still has the elegance of something more expensive.

 

SERVANT 3:

 

I gave it to my late

 

wife, and I had good luck

 

in winning her heart.

 

 

 

PRINCE LIAM:

 

It is simple enough, so

 

perhaps Guthran will let

 

her keep it.

 

 

 

KING BRAHAM:

 

Well son, we wish you

 

luck with your Calina.

 

 

 

He raises his glass. All but Prince Liam do likewise and drink. Prince Liam smiles.

 

 

 

 

 

INT. GUTHRAN’S LIVING ROOM.

 

GUTHRAN:

 

I hope a week without

 

supper teaches you a lesson

 

for being such a lousy maid!

 

 

 

He limps into his bedroom and snuffs out the candle. Calina holds back her tears. She reaches in her cloak for a handkerchief and finds Prince Liam’s book. She reads it and looks intrigued.

Leave a Reply

