The Fair Maiden, Calina Part 9

INT. DINING ROOM. EVENING.

King Braham enters and looks around. He sees Prince Liam underneath the table and raises an eyebrow. He peeks under the table.

KING BRAHAM:

What are you doing?

PRINCE LIAM:

Writing. It’s about the only

comfort I can get right now.

KING BRAHAM:

Right, but wouldn’t it be

easier to write on the

table rather than underneath?

Prince Liam emerges from under the table.

PRINCE LIAM:

I’m writing about her. It

helps if I get into her

mindset. I tried to find

someplace dark and lonesome.

I can’t ask her since I

haven’t seen her in a week.

I think Guthran won’t let

her go to the surface. They’re

getting  married in a few

days, you know.

Before Braham can respond, Queen Erycine enters with Stephano and a tea tray.

QUEEN ERYCINE:

Ah, Prince Liam! Stephano

told me about your relationship

with the Orphan of the

Underworld. I think you did

the right thing. At least she

can say at one point she

felt true love. We were

going to discuss my outfit

for my daughter’s birthday

party, but I’d much rather

hear your story of this!

PRINCE LIAM:

Everything was going so well

until this point! I miss her so

much! She made me feel less

lonely. She had such a beautiful

smile, and that kiss…that one

moment, it made me feel

happier than I’ve ever been.

But, a moment later, it was

all taken away. Now, she’s

going to marry her stepfather,

and I’ll never see her again!

(beat)

I think she has the same

birthday as the princess.

STEPHANO:

It seems all born on that

day have some grave misfortune.

Guthran did come by for a

wedding dress this morning.

His bride never did come for

a fitting, and he said he’d make

it fit. I’m confused-is Guthran

her father or groom?

PRINCE LIAM:

Both. And neither. She is

his prisoner. I want to raise

an army to rescue her, but

legally I have no cause. At

least the world will know her

 story with this book. I’ve

titled it, “The Fair Maiden,

Calina.”

Queen Erycine drops the tea tray and stands frozen in shock.

KING BRAHAM:

What’s wrong, dear?

They all get up to help her.

QUEEN ERYCINE:

I never told anyone, but right

before she went missing, I

gave our princess the name Calina.

Prince Liam looks at her eyes, and his heart pounds like a drum.

PRINCE LIAM:

I knew those eyes looked

familiar! And she has your

nose! Oh my God! This

whole time I…

(beat)

I’m so stupid!

KING BRAHAM:

Don’t say that; you sound

like her. Like, my daughter!

QUEEN ERYCINE:

Braham! Our daughter! She

is alive! I told you! She’s alive!

King Braham and Queen Erycine hug in jubilee.

PRINCE LIAM:

The princess is going to

marry Guthran in three days!

KING BRAHAM:

Stephano, go let the knights

know I wish to discuss an

urgent matter.

Stephano does so right away.

KING BRAHAM:

Well, Liam, it looks like

you’ll get your cause now!

Prince Liam beams. 

Leave a Reply

