Temca Academy II, Part 7

INT. ANIELLE AND TOCI’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Anielle enters to see Toci furiously pruning her plants.

ANIELLE:

Let me guess, your sedcution

attempt failed?

TOCI:

No one told me you had to cook

the oysters!

ANIELLE:

You poisoned him!

TOCI:

Not on purpose! I want to seduce

him! Sex is important to me. I’m

good at it, and I consider it one of

my talents. Sex is good for the soul!

It heals you physically and spiritually!

Why are you laughing so hard?

ANIELLE:

A prostitute just gave me the same

speech, except she added the

benefit of earning money with it.

TOCI:

Hey! Don’t compare me to a hooker!

Hookers will have sex with anyone;

I do have some standards. I can’t

help it if there’s a lot of hot guys on campus!

ANIELLE:

Hey, that’s an idea! We can get Meretrice

to stay here by doing business on campus!

TOCI:

You’re pimping now?

ANIELLE:

She’s in danger! She saw Babelsama pick

up Deirdre, and he’ll end up kidnapping

her too! Plus, I bet a lot of men on campus

miss female companionship since you

shut down.

TOCI:

Oh, ha ha. Did you figure out why

Babelsama would wanna kill her?

ANIELLE:

Both of them are orphans. We just

gotta figure out who their parents are

to see why Babelsama would want her

dead. Meretrice said she always felt

like she had evil eyes on her.

Anielle starts to get ready for bed. As she pulls out her scepter, Madame Fate’s card falls out. Toci picks it up.

TOCI:

Look, the evil eye is watching you!

Anielle laughs.

ANIELLE:

Yeah, the eyes of Fate were watching

her! But seriously, I do wanna pay

her a visit.

TOCI:

You know, she looks evil, but that

doesn’t mean she’s connected to

Babelsama!

ANIELLE:

Everyone keeps talking about working

for a great new leader that Madame Fate

predicts. Maybe she’s talking about Babelsama.

TOCI:

That’s ridiculous! Why would Babelsama-?

ANIELLE:

I’m going to visit her between classes.

If I’m gonna prove my point, I gotta

find out what, if anything, she knows.

TOCI:

Ask her if she knows how I can steal

Chad’s virginity!

ANIELLE:

(rolls eyes)

Good night!

INT. ANATOMY CLASS. MORNING.

PROFESSOR KOKONE concludes the class.

PROFESSOR KOKONE:

For homework, I want a four page

essay on the digestive system. Don’t

groan-people have written whole books

on the subject! Class dis…yes?

RED HAIR GIRL:

I’d like to make an announcement!

The Club for the Future Apprentices

of University Kingdom will be held

at the library at four p.m.

ANIELLE:

A club for what now?

ALBERTO:
Haven’t you been to Madame Fate?

A glorious kingdom will be built

based on the wisdom of a leader

in the university. We want to prepare

as much as we can for his coming.

So, there ya go-Future Apprentinces

of the University Kingdom.

ANIELLE:

The FAUK club?

RED HAIR GIRL:

It’s not the FAUK club! It’s-!

ALBERTO:

Do you wanna go to FAUK with me?

ANIELLE:

Go FAUK yourself!

Anielle leaves.

EXT. MADAME FATE’S SHOP. AFTERNOON.

Anielle is positively dreading going into this shop, mostly because she suspects it will be corny. She enters.

INT. MADAME FATE’S SHOP. AFTERNOON.

Anielle stands near the door inspecting her surroundings. BG-the walls are a velvety red, and the black curtains make it dark inside. Various posters of spells line the wall. In the center is a small, round table with a crystal ball on it. There is a purple curtain with a crescent moon pattern on it that leads to a back room.  MADAME FATE (short, pudgy, wispy brown hair, crooked nose, black robes, and those scary eyes) emerges from the back.

MADAME FATE:

Good afternoon!

ANIELLE:

Hi.

MADAME FATE:

I sense you are skeptical about my

power.

ANIELLE:

Sense it? I’m not trying to conceal it.

MADAME FATE:

Come, let me prove it to you.

Anielle shrugs and sits. Madame Fate reaches for her hand, and Anielle feels a chill go down her spine.

MADAME FATE:

Ah, you feel the clairvoyance!

ANIELLE:

Okay.

Madame Fate searches her palm.

MADAME FATE:

I see wealth in your past but not

happiness.

Madame Fate pauses for a reaction, but Anielle says nothing.

MADAME FATE:

Your present shows obstacles. I see

a lot of stress in your life.

ANIELLE:

Of course I’m stressed, I’m in college!

You don’t need to be psychic to predict

that!

MADAME FATE:

Your future holds greater obstacles. I

see a terrible heartache.

Madame Fate pauses. Anielle says nothing.

MADAME FATE:

I see your friends deserting you.

She pauses again. Anielle does not react.

MADAME FATE:

I see you growing old and alone with a

bunch of cats.

Anielle laughs.

ANIELLE:

I suppose they will invent a cure for

cat allergies…

MADAME FATE:

They have a potion you can take for

that. Worse, I see you defying the

new leader…

ANIELLE:

New leader? I’m intrigued. Tell me more.

MADAME FATE:

He will start off at Temca, and his ideas

will be so powerful they will spread all

over the world.

ANIELLE:

Why isn’t he famous already?

MADAME FATE:

He has to get his chosen partner

pregnant first, and the creation of

this child will give birth to his greatness.

ANIELLE:

Interesting. Anything else?

MADAME FATE:

First visit is twenty five pieces.

Anielle hands her the money.

MADAME FATE:

Do be careful out there!

ANIELLE:

Yeah, I wouldn’t wanna disappoint

my future cats!

Anielle leaves.

Leave a Reply

