The Unsuper Heroes, Part 4

INT. THRONE ROOM. LATE AFTERNOON.

The heroes plus Cyrek and Orcus enter the throne room where PHILOLES (a good-looking, well built prince with dark hair and light colored eyes) casually sits on his throne and chats with a couple of servants. Everyone stands before the prince. Exelda avoids eye contact with him. Philoles stands to address them.

PHILOLES:

Welcome, my friends! Cyrek, what’s

going on in my kingdom?

CYREK:

Well, a monster attacked Chaos, so we

went to the oracle for advice. I learned

that these guys were destined to save

Chaos from a series of monsters. They

just destroyed one, so one down, more

to come.

ORCUS:

And I learned not to hit on an angry

oracle!

PHILOLES:

Um, okay. So, on behalf of our city-state,

I want to thank you for your services.

He shakes each of their hands. When he gets to Exelda, who cannot look at him, he stops amusedly.

PHILOLES:

Hey, I know you!

EXELDA:

No you don’t.

PHILOLES:

I haven’t forgotten that day

EXELDA:

Could you try?

PHILOLES:

Don’t tell me you’ve been drinking!

It wasn’t that bad.

EXELDA:

I was humiliated!

GEEKIUS:

You gotta tell us this story. You know

that, right?

EXELDA:

(sighs)

Okay. You know I was kicked out of

the army because they found out I was

a girl. Well, what I didn’t tell you was how

they found out.

(beat)

I was a hero in our last war. We wouldn’t

have won without me. The king brought

me in and told me…

PHILOLES:

He said the reward for saving the

kingdom was my sister’s hand in

marriage.

The others all laugh. Exelda turns red.

EXELDA:

So I took off my armor and had to

reveal myself before she kissed me.

HYPNOS:

You know what would’ve made that

story better? If you kissed her!

EXELDA:

Shut up! Okay, since we’ve cleared

the air, can we move on?

PHILOLES:

One more thing. I gotta reveal my

honest thoughts.

EXELDA:

(sighs)

What?

PHILOLES:

When you stripped off your armor…

that was totally hot!

EXELDA:

What???

PHILOLES:

I don’t know. Just a manly man becoming

a curvacious lady, that was hot! Wouldn’t

you agree that would be hot?

The men thought about it for a second and had to agree.

EXELDA:

Men! Doesn’t matter their social

staus-they’re all the same!

DITZIA:

(to Philoles)

She hates men.

EXELDA:

I don’t hate men. I just hate how

we’re not respected.

PHILOLES:

Hey, I respect women! In fact, when

I’m king, I was going to start allowing

women into the army. I’m serious!

You gave me the idea. We wouldn’t

have won that war or defeated that

monster without you! It’s proof

women can be good warriors too!

Exelda says nothing, though her expression has somewhat softened.

PHILOLES:

Well, tomorrow I’ll stop by your place

to monitor your progress with this

monster matter.

CYREK:

Thank you, your majesty.

PHILOLES:

Please, just Philoles.

DITZIA:

Good bye, Just Philoles!

Philoles watches Exelda leave first.

PHILOLES:

Bye!

Leave a Reply

