The Unsuper Heroes, Part 12

INT. MERCINON’S HIDEOUT. EVENING.

Impuso brings the heroes to a large, open area of the place where Mercinon hides away.

IMPUSO:

His office is upstairs. Are you ready?

DITZIA:

No!

Ditzia flings her arms around Narcius.

DITZIA:

If something happens to us, I want

you to know I love you!

NARCIUS:

Wow, no one has ever said that to

me before! I love you too!

They almost kiss, but Exelda breaks them up.

EXELDA:

That’s great and all, but we’re

kind of busy right now!

Mercinon goes to a balcony above the heroes and looks down on the scene.

MERCINON:

(to Impuso)

What in the name of Zeus are

you doing? Are you helping them?

PHILOLES:

Are you the one plaguing my kingdom?

 Mercinon descends a staircase to meet them.

MERCINON:

That’s right. I’m Mercinon, your

future king. This is my assistant, Darius.

No one comes out.

MERCINON:

Oh right. I lost him last night after

he told me he’d be sending this idiot

out to get you.

IMPUSO:

What’s wrong with me?

MERCINON:

Nothing. What’s right with you?

IMPUSO:

If you believe that I’m incompetent,

then why did you hire me in the first

place? Maybe they’re right; you’re

just using me!

MERCINON:

Maybe they’re right? You’re so fired!

Impuso leaves the room.

HYPNOS:

Ha! You just fired your last ally.

Now it’s us six against you.

(laughs)

Mercinon gestures for someone to come in, and a bunch of soldiers appear. Hypnos stops laughing.

MERCINON:

Did you really think I would try to

take over the kingdom without an

army? Do you want to surrender or

actually face these soldiers by yourself?

EXELDA:

We’ll never surrender!

MERCINON:

Then any last words?

DITZIA:

You are so short!

MERCINON:

(angry)

Get them!

The six of them fight against Mercinon’s army. They do well, but they are outnumbered. The Greek soldiers appear and join their fight. They are still outnumbered.

MERCINON:

Ha! You will never defeat me! I

am the greatest-!

He is interrupted mid-word by being crushed by a giant foot. At first, everyone is scared, but they see the giant shrink into Impuso. The remaining of Mercinon’s soldiers surrender. Everyone else cheers. The soldiers all thank the heroes.

EXELDA:

Come on, we all played our part.

PHILOLES:

Yes, but it’s really your victory. It’s

been you five from the beginning, and

you deserve the credit.

NARCIUS:

Don’t forget our big finish here!

(indicates Impuso)

IMPUSO:

It does feel good to be on the

winning side.

NARCIUS:

Would you like to join our hero

thingy-ma-bobber?

IMPUSO:

Sure.

CYREK:

Good job to you all! I think it’s

high time we return the prince

to the palace!

HYPNOS:

Aw man! That’s really far from here!

(to Impuso)

Do you think you could change into

a giant chariot and whisk us all there?

Exelda pushes him out the door. Everyone follows in high spirits.

INT. THRONE ROOM. NIGHT.

The king and queen sit in distress while the princess looks despondent. They see Philoles enters followed by the heroes, Cyrek, and Orcus. The royal family is overjoyed to see him and run over to hug him.

KING:

My son! I was so worried!

PHILOLES:

I’m alright, thanks to these guys!

Philoles points to the heroes, who look humble.

QUEEN:

These are the ones prescribed by

the oracle? She is so wise!

ORCUS:

And a strong hitter! Don’t ask me

how I know that!

PHILOLES:

This is Narcius, Ditzia, Hypnos, Impuso,

Geekius, and I think you remember

Exelda.

PRINCESS:

How could we forget?

EXELDA:

I’ve tried.

KING:

Well, I think you guys ought to

get a reward.

HYPNOS:

I think you used our reward money

as bait today. When we killed

Mercinon, we really should’ve

grabbed it.

PHILOLES:

Actually, I remembered. Didn’t you

notice that I’m wearing a satchel

over my shoulders now? Here,

divide it among yourselves.

Philoles takes off the satchel from his shoulder and throws it down to the heroes. Hypnos dives in immediately. Geekius, Ditzia, Impuso, and Narcius look interested. Exelda stands with Philoles.

EXELDA:

(points to a table)

Looks like you have mail.

Philoles picks it up and thumbs through it all.

PHILOLES:

What’s this? Six pairs of shoes

from Nike?

EXELDA:

(laughs)

Not my idea!

PHILOLES:

Right. Well, since this monster

business is over, I hope I still can

see you once in a while.

EXELDA:

Well, I’m sure this isn’t going to be

the last time we deal with monsters!

I don’t feel like this is over!

PHILOLES:

Yeah, but I meant…

PRINCESS:

I think my brother would like to

court you.

EXELDA:

Me? Really?

PHILOLES:

What do you say?

 Exelda holds his hand and smiles. Philoles smiles too.

DITZIA:

Awwwwww!

Before anyone else can respond, MAURA (a small, old woman who carries a walking stick) walks in.

MAURA:

Excuse me. My name is Maura.

I’m looking for my son, Mercinon.

Do you know where he is?

GEEKIUS:

I’m sorry to inform you, ma’am,

but your son is dead.

MAURA:

(shrugs)

I know. So am I. I just thought

he’d be back by now.

She disappears. Everyone else looks scared and confused.

DITZIA:

I don’t get it. Is it over or not?

Everyone shrugs.

Cut to credits.

Leave a Reply

