Heaven’s Headquarters, Part 2

INT. BIG GUY’S OFFICE. (CON’T).

The Big Guy summons JOSEPH (a young man with a gray suit and a white tie, black hair, muscular build). Joseph enters and looks at the Big Guy awaiting his wishes.

BIG GUY:

Show Ethan his world without him.

I gotta go. I’m helping my son throw

a party tonight!

The Big Guy disappears.

JOSEPH:

Thanks a lot, now I’m going to miss

that party!

ETHAN:

So, who are you? Saint Joseph?

JOSEPH:

No! My name is Joseph Love. I

was a soldier in the Revolutionary

War.

ETHAN:

Oh, you got killed in battle?

JOSEPH:

No, after we won, my friends and I

had a party and I died there.

ETHAN:

How’d you die?

JOSEPH:

I don’t know.

ETHAN:

Wait a minute, how’d I die?

JOSEPH:

No one in Heaven is supposed to

know. If they think about their

death, they’ll never stop dwelling

on it. Though the last thing I

remember is swimming, so I think

I drowned. But who knows! Anyways,

you think the world can’t survive

without you? Who depended on you?

ETHAN:

My fiancee, Diana Shaw. She’s in

love with me, so there’s no way

she’ll survive without me!

JOSEPH:

Is that right?

Joseph snaps his fingers, and they both disappear.

INT. FANCY RESTAURANT. EVENING.

Joseph and Ethan appear in a gourmet restaurant that is mostly full.

ETHAN:

Can anyone see me?

JOSEPH:

Nope. Where’s Diana?

Ethan scans the restaurant and sees DIANA (strawberry blonde hair in a bun and wearing a chic red dress). Diana is sitting with a very handsome man, FRANK. Ethan stands next to her, listening to her dialogue.

DIANA:

It’s the first date I’ve been on

since my fiancee died three

months ago.

ETHAN:

Three months?

JOSEPH:

Sorry, Heaven doesn’t have a real

concept of time.

FRANK:

I have to confess when I befriended

you at work, I always hoped that you

would break up with your fiancee. I

mean, he’s the greatest guy I know, but

I had such a crush on you for a long time.

I only hope that I can give you as much

happiness as Ethan did.

DIANA:

I think you will. I have to also make

a confession. I loved Ethan with all

my heart, but ever since I met you,

my heart was torn between two men.

I know that he would’ve wanted me to

move on and be happy. I could really

see myself have a future with you. I

think I could be falling for you.

FRANK:

Are you afraid of moving too fast?

DIANA:

Ethan will always be a part of my

past, but you are my future!

Frank beamed, and Diana smiled back.

ETHAN:

That bastard! This whole time he

was trying to steal my woman! I’ll

kill him!

Ethan tries to strangle Frank, but his hands go right through him.

JOSEPH:

A few things. First of all, remember

you’re not supposed to swear. Second,

you’re invisible, so he can’t see or feel

you. And lastly, I doubt the Big Guy

will let you into Heaven if you actually

did kill someone. I know you’re hurting,

so I’m gonna pretend I didn’t see that.

ETHAN:

Okay, so maybe she’s move on, but

my parents will beĀ devastated.

JOSEPH:

If you say so.

Joseph snaps his fingers, and they disappear.

Leave a Reply

