Heaven’s Headquarters, Part 3

INT. MILLER LIVING ROOM. EVENING.

Joseph and Ethan appear in his parents’ living room, which is neat and has a lot of comfortable and clean furniture. MRS. MILLER is knitting on her flowery couch with her orange cat curled up beside her. She has a faint smile on her face. MR. MILLER enters the front door with a huge smile on his face.

MR. MILLER:

Good news, honey! I got a huge

promotion!

MRS. MILLER:

Oh really? What’s your new position?

MR. MILLER:

You’re looking at the new manager

of the Animal Buffet Pet Food factory!

MRS. MILLER:

Oh honey! That’s wonderful!

 Mrs. Miller gets up and gives her husband a huge hug.

MRS. MILLER:

Ethan would be so proud of you!

MR. MILLER:

Before he died, he kept trying to

get me quit drinking and worker

harder. If only he could see his

old man now! If he lived, he could

have stopped loaning us money.

Now we can use the inheritance he

left us to treat ourselves! Maybe

we can visit Cally in France!

MRS. MILLER:

That would be wonderful! Instead

of selling these blankets to supplement,

our income, I’ll give it charity! Oh,

I’m so glad we’re going to be alright!

I dreaded what life would be like

without him, and I’ll always miss

my baby boy, but I’m so glad we

will be okay without him! He is

probably looking at us now, smiling.

Ethan is frowning.

ETHAN:

Now they don’t need me? They

just said it! My fiancee has moved

on, and my parents are happier

than ever with me being gone!

MR. MILLER:

Let’s go out to a nice restaurant

to celebrate!

MRS. MILLER:

Wow, this will be the first time we’ve

really dined out since Ethan died

six months ago!

ETHAN:

So, every time you snap your

fingers, it’s been three months

on Earth?

JOSEPH:

I guess. So, your fiancee and

your parents can live without

you. Are you ready to admit

that the world doesn’t need

you to go back?

ETHAN:

No! My sister must need me!

We were best friends-how could

she live without me?

JOSEPH:

Let’s find out together, shall we?

Joseph snaps his fingers, and they disappear.

Leave a Reply

