Heaven’s Headquarters, Part 4

INT. FRENCH UNIVERSITY CLASSROOM. AFTERNOON.

Joseph and Ethan appear at the end of a lecture, which is done in French.

JOSEPH:

Hold on, I can get subtitles.

ETHAN:

Cally went to another country to

study? She probably had trouble

making friends so wanted to get

a fresh start in France. She was

really shy, I was trying to help

her with that. She must be so

lonely and miserable here!

JOSEPH:

Sorry to disappoint you, but she

doesn’t look so sad.

CALLY (brunette, medium build, golden brown eyes) listens to the lecture with a lot of interest. The lecture concludes, and Cally gathers her things and walks alone.

ETHAN:

See, alone and miserable!

Cally soon gets joined by JEAN (young, handsome blonde French man).

JEAN:

Bonjour Cally!

(Translation: Hello Cally!)

CALLY:

(smiles big)

Salut Jean! Ça va?

(Translation: Hey Jean! What’s up?)

JEAN:

Oui, ça va. Et toi?

(Translation: I’m good. How are you?)

CALLY:

Oui, ça va. Où est-ce que tu vas?

(Translation: Yes, I’m good. Where are

you going?)

JEAN:

Chez moi.

(Translation: My house.)

CALLY:

Je vais aller au café. Tu veux

venir avec moi?

(Translation: I’m going to a cafe. Do

you want to go with me?)

JEAN:

Mais oui!

(Translation: Yes, of course!)

 Jean and Cally leave the class together.

JOSEPH:

She asked a guy out. Sounds like

she got out of her shyness.

ETHAN:

Hold on. Let’s see how well she

does on this supposed date.

They follow Cally and Jean.

EXT. FRENCH CAFE. AFTERNOON.

Jean and Cally sit outside and look at a menu. Joseph sits down casually but Ethan watches them anxiously.

JEAN:

Qu’est-ce que tu veux manger?

(Translation: What do you want to eat?)

CALLY:

Un croissant et des thé.

(Translation: A croissant and some tea.)

JEAN:

C’est toût?

(Translation: That’s all?)

CALLY:

Oui. Qu’est-ce que tu vas manger?

(Translation: Yes. What are you

going to eat?)

JEAN:

Je pense que je vais manger un

sandwich et un chocolât.

(Translation: I think I’m going to

eat a sandwich and some hot

chocolate.)

(to the waiter)

S’il vous plaît, Monsieur!

(Translation: Please, sir!)

WAITER:

Vous desirèz?

(Translation: What would you like?)

As Jean repeats the food choices they just made, Joseph nudges Ethan.

ETHAN:

What? I’m trying to read!

JOSEPH:

Just checking on you.

The waiter brings Cally and Jean their food.

CALLY:

Qu’est-ce que tu faire avec

ton vie?

(Translation: What do you want

to do with your life?)

JEAN:

Je suis acteur.

(Translation: I’m an actor.)

CALLY:

Ah bon? C’est cool.

(Translation: Oh really?

That’s cool.)

JEAN:

Et toi?

(Translation: And you?)

CALLY:

Je veux être employée de

bureau. C’est quoi mon frère

a fait.

(Translation: I want to be an

office worker. It’s what my

brother did.)

JEAN:

Qu’est-ce qu’il fait maintenant?

(Translation: What does he do now?)

CALLY:

Il est mort.

(Translation: He is dead.)

JEAN:

Je suis très desolé.

(Translation: I’m so sorry.)

CALLY:

Ne suis pas. C’est parce que de

lui je suis ici.

(Translation: Not me. I’ts because

of him I’m here.)

(beat)

J’aime toi beaucoup.

(Translation: I like you a lot.)

Jean smiles big at that.

JEAN:

J’aime toi aussi. Est-ce que tu

es ma copine?

(Translation: I like you too. Will

you be my girlfriend?)

CALLY:

Oui, bien sûr!

(Translation: Yes, of course!)

Jean grabs her hand, which is on the table. Cally holds it back, and they smile at each other. Ethan is furious.

JOSEPH:

Wow, not only is she not shy,

but she’s gutsy, asking a guy out!

ETHAN:

She’s using my death as a way to

pick up men! Well, I guess she’s

okay with my death!

JOSEPH:

Ready to give up yet?

ETHAN:

No! Let’s go to my old work. They’ll

miss me for sure!

Joseph dully snaps his fingers, and they disappear.

Leave a Reply

