Heaven’s Headquarters, Part 7

EXT. GRAVEYARD. NOON. (con’t)

Joseph talks on his cell phone as Ethan reads the epitaph on the grave he was drawn to.

JOSEPH:

Sounds like a great party!

(beat)

Yeah. I’m watching Ethan!

What do you mean, where is

he? He’s in the graveyard and…

oh shi-! Shoot!

CLOSE UP on the epitaph-which reads “Here lies Ethan Jacob Miller, who sacrificed his body to save his sister’s life. Even in death, he encourages his loved ones to live life to the fullest. God rest this brave soul!” Ethan closes his eyes, remembering.

EXT. FANCY RESTAURANT. NIGHT.

Cally and Ethan come out of the restaurant, laughing and conversing pleasantly. As they walk down the street, a man comes up from behind them with a gun and pushes them into a nearby alley.

EXT. ALLEY. NIGHT.

Ethan and Cally are pushed to the ground by the gunman. They stand up and face the gun man.

GUN MAN:

Hand over all your money!

Ethan hands over his wallet, but Cally does not move.

GUN MAN:

Your money too, you dumb girl!

CALLY:

I don’t have any money, so I didn’t

bring my purse! I don’t have anything!

GUN MAN:

Give me your jewelry then!

CALLY:

I don’t have any jewelry!

GUN MAN:

Ugh! Quit playing me, bitch!

CALLY:

I don’t have anything, honest!

Cally is in tears. The Gun Man lets out a roar of frustration. He aims his gun at Cally and fires. Cally winces, expecting to get hit. Ethan throws his body in front of her and takes the bullet. The weight of Ethan’s body knocks Cally to the ground.

CALLY:

Ethan?

WITNESS (OS):

Was that a gun? Call nine one one!

The Gun Man runs off as witnesses pour in to see what happened. Cally turned Ethan’s body around to face her. She looks at his wound and sees Ethan’s labored breathing.

CALLY:

No! Ethan! Don’t die! You’re

gonna make it! Hang on!

ETHAN:

There are some things worth dying

for! I don’t want anyone to be sad

for me. They’ll show me they care

by having fun and achieving their

potential. Tell Diana not to become

an old maid! Tell Dad to quit drinking

and get ahead at work! Tell everyone

we know to live life to the fullest! Cally,

you’ll be getting a lot of money. Use it

to go to school in France like you’ve

always dreamed of! Don’t cry! It’s my

time! I love you, sister! Tell everyone!

Ethan stops breathing. Cally tries to hold back her tears as her brother requested. The paramedics come to take away his body.

EXT. GRAVEYARD. NOON.

Joseph comes running up to Ethan, who is in tears.

JOSEPH:

Are you okay?

ETHAN:

You were right, I needed to

 die! Everyone moving on was

honoring my last wishes! I

inspired them! I wouldn’t

change a thing!

JOSEPH:

(smiles)

Ready to go now?

ETHAN:

Yes.

Joseph is about to snap his finger, but Ethan stops him.

ETHAN:

Wait! I got an idea.

INT. UNDERWORLD LOBBY.

Ethan takes over the empty reception desk at the entrance to Hell. He uses his office phone to call the Big Guy.

BIG GUY:

Whew! What a busy morning!

A group of Somali pirates’

boat went down, that’s a lot of

paperwork! No really, I’m loving

this! I get a lot of satisfaction

sending evil people where they

deserve to go! Oh, someone is

coming, gotta go! Thanks again

for everything, Big Guy!

Ethan hangs up the phone and waits expectantly. A portal appears and spits out the Gun Man. Ethan smiles triumphantly at him.

ETHAN:

Ah, Mister Gun Man! Thought

you could out gun the SWAT

team, huh? Wow, you’re a lot

more evil than just murdering

me! Please go straight to Area 666!

Ethan pulls a lever and flings the Gun Man away. He then puts up his feet, relaxes, and sighs happily.

CUT TO CREDITS.

Leave a Reply

