The Obsessive, Part 3

CUE OPENING MONTAGE

SUPERIMPOSE: San Francisco 1987

KORA’S ROOM

ZOOM IN on Kora’s boombox. PLAY SONG “I Got My Mind Set On You” by George Harrison. Kora shakes her rear end to the drum intro. When lyrics start, ZOOM OUT to Kora in her pajamas (shorts with hearts, tank top) singing into a full length mirror using a gold hair brush.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you.

Kora goes to her dresser and picks out an outfit while still dancing and lip syncing to the music.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
But it’s gonna take money,
a whole lot of spending money,
it’s gonna take plenty of money
to do it right child.

PAN AWAY from Kora to the floor and show her pajamas hitting the floor.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
It’s gonna take time,
a whole lot of precious time,
It’s gonna take patience and time,
mmm, to do it-

PAN BACK to Kora, who is fully dressed.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
To do it, to do it, to do it, to do it,
to do it right child!

Kora goes to her bed. BG- various posters are behind her bed, including the Princess Bride. Mickey is on the bed, and Kora lip syncs to him.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you.

Mickey runs out of the room.

HALLWAY

Kora passes by four portraits. One is of her. Also up there is DYLAN (high school aged, brown hair, brown eyes), MERNA (late forties, curly brown hair, green eyes) and HAROLD (early fifties, salt and pepper hair, golden brown eyes).

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
And this time I know it’s real,
the feeling that I feel-

BATHROOM

BG-Kora’s bathroom is small but cozy. Kora does her hair.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
I know if I put my mind to it,
I know that I can really do it!
I’ve got my mind set on you,
set on you.
I’ve got my mind set on you,
set on you.

Kora does her make up.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(Singing)
But it’s gonna take money,
a whole lotta spending money,
it’s gonna take plenty of money
to do it right child.
It’s gonna take time,
a whole lotta precious time,
it’s gonna take patience and time,
to do it, to do it, to do it,
to do it, to do it, to do it right.

When Kora finishes her make up, she does a little kiss towards the mirror and walks out.

HALLWAY

During the ten second breakdown, Kora dances in the hallway.

STAIRWAY

Kora goes up and down the steps rhythmically.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you,
I’ve got my mind set on you.

KITCHEN

Kora dances as she prepares toast and coffee.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
And this time I know it’s real,
the feelings that I feel,
I know if I put my mind to it,
I know that I can really do it!

Kora goes to the kitchen table to eat and drink her breakfast.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
But it’s gonna take money,
a whole lotta spending money,
it’s gonna take plenty of money,
to do it right child.

Kora dances into the living room.

LIVING ROOM

Kora grabs her shoes that are by the door and puts them on while sitting on the couch.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
It’s gonna take time,
a whole lotta precious time,
it’s gonna take patience and time
to do it, to do it, to do it,
to do it, to do it, to do it right.

Kora heads outside.

FRONT YARD

BG-Kora’s home is brown and has grass and bushes on the front lawn. A small chain fence surrounds the house, except for the backyard, which has a wooden fence. The Bay can be seen in the distance. Kora, who wears a walkman, dances down the porch, unlatches the gate, and heads out.

GEORGE HARRISON (O.S.):
(singing)
Set on you, set on you,
set on you, set on you,
set on you, set on you,
set on you, set on you,
set on you, set on you,
set on you, set on you

SONG FADES

END OF MONTAGE

EXT. JULIAN’S HOUSE. DAY.

Kora walks toward her house with a small grocery bag and a small cup of soda. BG-Next to Kora’s house, there is a pink home with similar architecture to Kora’s home. Julian emerges from his house. He sees Kora and waves happily. Kora does not see him. Julian runs up to his front gate and taps her shoulder. Kora looks confused and then looks towards Julian. When she realizes who it is, she takes off her headphones excitedly.

KORA:
(gasps)
Skipper!

JULIAN:
Kora!

Julian hops over his gate, and they give each other a hug.

KORA:
So, I’m not the only one moving
back in with her parents!

JULIAN:
Actually, my parents retired in
Florida. Ugh, so cliche! I
own this house!

KORA:
Wow, so now you own a house
and a boat!

JULIAN:
Well, I inherited the boat
but I bought the house from
my parents. Guess who’s San
Francisco’s newest public defender!

KORA:
You’re practicing law now? Why
didn’t you tell me?

JULIAN:
I wrote you a letter, but apparently
you don’t live in Seattle anymore.
What happened?

KORA:
Graduate school wasn’t right for
me. I don’t think I’m meant to be
a teacher.

JULIAN:
So, what are you going to do now?

KORA:
I’m looking for work in the Bay
Area until I figure out what I’m
meant to do. So, have you settled
down with anyone yet?

JULIAN:
(laughs)
Yeah right! Too many cute men out
here! Though you’ll be happy to know
I’ve started using condoms more.
(laughs again)
Seriously though, you can’t be too
careful right now.

KORA:
I knew a guy in Seattle that got
AIDS. He’s not doing too well.

JULIAN:
No kidding! What about you?

KORA:
I don’t have AIDS.

JULIAN:
No, I meant do you have a man
in your life?

KORA:
Are you kidding? I’m a twenty-
four year old living with her
parents and I have no job-who
would want me?

JULIAN:
Someone will. How could they not-
you’re awesome!

KORA:
I’m not worries about finding a
man. When the right time comes,
he’ll come to me. Anyways, I’m
more concerned about finding a
job with equal pay.

JULIAN:
Well, good luck, sister! Listen,
I got to go! Let’s do drinks some
time this week.

KORA:
Sounds great! Oh, I’m so glad that
I can hang out with my Skipper again!

JULIAN:
It’s going to be so much fun! But if
a cute guy’s around, remember to call
me by my full name, Julian Alwin,
esquire.

KORA:
Alright. See ya later!

JULIAN:
Later Kora!

Julian goes to his car in the driveway. Kora smiles and walks to her house.

Leave a Reply

