The Obsessive, Part 4

INT. KORA’S KITCHEN. DAY.

Kora is eating lunch when Harold, Merna, and Dylan walk in wearing church clothes.

MERNA:
Hey! I thought you were too sick to
go to church!

KORA:
No, Mom, I said I was sick of church.

HAROLD:
Look, no one likes going to church, but-

KORA:
Last week everyone said a prayer for me
to get a job. It’s embarrassing to be
center of attention like that.

DYLAN:
So, get a job and problem solved, right?

KORA:
I worked hard to get my degree, so I
deserve to make the same amount as man!
Mom, you make as much as a man; aren’t
you proud?

MERNA:
I’m a female pilot-no one thinks I
exist, so they pay me like a man.
Maybe if you go to school for it,
you can be a pilot too.

HAROLD:
Oh no, I’m not paying for more
education til Dylan goes to college.

DYLAN:
What if I get a football scholarship?

HAROLD:
Oh please! At the rate you’re going,
you’ll be keeping your sister company
after high school!

KORA:
Hey! Do you really think it’ll take
me that long to get a job?

DYLAN:
I can’t be that bad if they keep
letting me on the team.

KORA:
Then why were you the only boy
allowed to play on the Powder
Puff team?

DYLAN:
I disguised myself to look like
you so boys would stop hitting on me.

MERNA:
That’s enough! Even though kids grow
up, they still squabble like children!

HAROLD:
Kora, you’ll get a job if you keep
trying. Dylan, boys will stop hitting
on you if you cut your hair.

Dylan rolls his eyes.

MERNA:
So Kora, have you done any job
hunting today?

KORA:
It’s Sunday, Mom. Everything’s closed.
Look, you don’t need to worry about me.
It’s not like I want to stay here
forever. I’m just tired of taking chances
on things only for it to not work out.
If I accept another job, I want something
that will last, something that means a lot
to me and will let me live the life I
want to live. I know what I’m doing, so I
don’t want people watching my every move.
I do want to maintain a small sense of
freedom, okay?

HAROLD:
Alright, alright, we’ll back off. We’re
cool. Do you kids still say cool? Oh I
got it, we’re radical. We’re radical!

Kora and Dylan laugh and shake their heads. Merna laughs, and Harold smiles.

INT. KORA’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Kora sits in her room in her pajamas while listening to some upbeat music and reading a book. She looks out the window and sighs. Micky jumps onto the windowsill, obstructing her view.

KORA:
Oh, hello Mr. Moody! Am I not
paying enough attention to you?

Kora goes to pet Micky, but Micky gives her a stern look.

KORA:
Or maybe you just wanna look
out the window.

Kora stands up and also looks out the window.

KORA:
What do you see when you look out
there, Micky? The ocean gives me
hope. It just reminds me there is
more out there. Like, no matter
what’s happening to me here, there’s
a whole world out there, and my
problems seem less significant.
Doesn’t work with rivers though.
I don’t know why.

Kora sits back down.

KORA:
I feel like something is coming for
me, but I don’t think it’ll be easy
to get. Sometimes I fear I’ll never
be happy, like I’m doomed by some kind
of curse. I try not to think like that
though. All I can do is take it one day
at a time. I don’t need my answer right
now. I’d settle for the Niners beating
those stinking Cowboys!

Micky jumps off the windowsill and scampers off. Kora turns off the music and lights and then goes to bed.

INT. KORA’S ROOM. DAY.

Kora wakes up and gets out of bed. When she gets to her dresser, she sees a shadow move out of the corner of her eye. She looks in the direction of the shadow, sees nothing, and shrugs. As she starts to undress, she senses the shadow behind her. She looks again, sees nothing, and continues to undress.

INT. KORA’S BATHROOM. DAY.

As Kora sits on the toilet, she hears someone take a deep breath. She finds it strange but does not do anything about it.

INT. KORA’S KITCHEN. DAY.

Kora’s family sitting down for breakfast. Merna is wearing her pilot’s uniform, Harold is wearing a suit, and Dylan wears school-appropriate clothes. The radio in the kitchen is playing a news station.

NEWSPERSON (O.S.):
…This stock market crash is the
biggest fall we’ve seen in a long
time, which prompted the media to
call this day “Black Monday”…

HAROLD:
Great! My clients will not be happy
about this.

DYLAN:
What does working for a bank have
to do with the stock market?

MERNA:
People who lost money are going
to look at all their assets. I
wonder how this will impact the
British economy. I guess I’ll
find out later.

KORA:
I’ve always been fascinated by
England. I don’t know why, but
for some reason I always think
about a big bonfire when I
picture England.

HAROLD:
You should be a writer. Sometimes
you say the most random things!

The family is quiet for a moment. The napkins at the center of the table suddenly tip over. Merna picks it it up, and Kora stares at it peculiarly.

Leave a Reply

