The Obsessive, Part 5

INT. TROLLEY. DAY.

Kora sits in a crowded trolley car. The lady next to her is doing her make up. Out of the corner of Kora’s eye, she thins she sees some cold eyes looking at her from the mirror. She turns and looks at the mirror. All she can see is the lady doing her make up. Kora looks confused.

EXT. OFFICE BUILDING. DAY.

As Kora walks towards the entrance, she slips, but someone catches her.

KORA:
Thank you!

Kora looks around and sees no one. She frowns and walks inside the office building.

INT. KERES’S OFFICE. DAY.

Kora enters into an office and speaks with a man whose desk labels him as John KERES.

KERES:
Hello! I’m John Keres, the hiring manager
for Globalnet Finanical Investments. Have
a seat.

Kora sits down.

KERES:
Do you have any experience in finance
or business?

KORA:
No, but I have a bachelor’s degree.

KERES:
What was your major?

KORA:
English. And I started a graduate
in Education but-

KERES:
Do you have experience in sales?
Office management?

KORA:
For a while, I was a cashier at
Montgomery Wards.

KERES:
Okay, great. So, what is your
availability like?

KORA:
I’m completely open.

KERES:
Can you come in on Monday?

KORA:
For a second interview?

KERES:
No, I’d like you start working.

KORA:
I got the job? Just like that?
Oh, thank you! Did you like my
job experience then?

KERES:
No, I like your ta-tas.

KORA:
Excuse me?

KERES:
I should say the company likes your
ta-tas. We like to have a girl on
our staff because other financial
investors tend to donate more when
they see an attractive woman.

KORA:
So, I wouldn’t be doing any actual
work? I thought you were advertising
for a financial assistant!

KERES:
And you would be assisting us. Just
wear a tight blouse and act like you
understand what the men are saying.

KORA:
I understand a lot about finances!
My dad is a bank manager.

KERES:
Sweetie, you don’t need to use your
brains anymore. You’ll be making twice
as much as you did at Montgomery Ward
but all you gotta do is look pretty.
Like modeling.

KORA:
Without the dignity!

KERES:
What? You’re offended? You feel
complimented!

KORA:
I don’t want your job if it means
a lack of respect! Find another
pin up, dickhead!

Kora storms out. Keres raises his eyebrows, shakes his head, and throws away her paperwork.

INT. BAR. NIGHT.

Kora and Julian sit on a couch in a trendy bar.

JULIAN:
What a pig! You should sue him!

KORA:
Yeah right.

JULIAN:
Seriously, sexual harassment victims
can sue for thousands. I’m talking
six figures.

KORA:
Yeah, and I’m sure his high priced
lawyers will claim I’m just trying
to pull a scam since I’m having so
much trouble finding work. I don’t
want that drama. All I want to do is
find a job!

JULIAN:
You don’t just want a job. You want the
job. Otherwise you would’ve taken that slimeball’s
offer.

KORA:
I guess I just feel like I belong somewhere.
I’ve been in the Bay Area, away, and back
again. Why is it so much trouble for me?

JULIAN:
You got standards. Like, look at our dating
history. Do I get more dates than you? Yes.
But I’m not going for the stable guys with
a future.

KORA:
But you have a stable job.

JULIAN:
Yeah, I got my life, so a man would have
to be pretty darn special to change that.
But my point is most people settles for
something that makes money. You want
something that makes you happy. Take your
time ’cause that won’t be easy to find!

KORA:
I can’t just take my time. I already have
bill collectors bugging me about my
student loans. I feel so hopeless!

RANDY (a sleazy bar patron) sits on the arm of the couch next to Kora.

RANDY:
You feel low? I’ll raise you up!

KORA:
Who do you think you are to just
go up to a girl and say that?

RANDY:
Name’s Randolph, but girls call me
Randy ’cause that’s how I make them
feel.

KORA:
Ugh! I’ve had enough creeps today.
Get lost!

Randy attempts to touch her, but Kora pushes his hand away, which causes Randy to spill his drink on her blouse. Kora marches straight to the bathroom, very angry.

INT. BAR BATHROOM. NIGHT.

Kora slams the bathroom door closed. She looks at the red stain on her blouse and growls. She tries wiping it off with a paper towel, but it doesn’t come out. She thrusts the paper towel into the trash and takes off her blouse. Her white camisole is low cut, and as she tries scrubbing out the stain with soap and water, she does not notice Velos appear in the mirror. He looks down her cleavage and smiles pervertedly. He watches her chest moving while she cleans.

VELOS:
Oh yeah!

Kora hears this. She looks around the bathroom but sees no one. Velos disappears from the mirror, but Kora catches a glimpse of his eyes. She does not understand what just happened, but she feels a little violated. She grabs her blouse, quickly puts it on, and rushes out of the bathroom.

INT. BAR. NIGHT.

Kora rushes up to Julian.

JULIAN:
Don’t worry, Randy’s gone. Started
hitting on some slutty girl that he
says looks like Debbie Gibson. I’m
like please, she is no Deb-

KORA:
Skipper! I think someone is following
me!

JULIAN:
Someone in this bar, you mean?

KORA:
No! All morning I saw shadows
everywhere. And after I tripped this
afternoon, someone caught me and
disappeared. And just now, in the
bathroom, I saw a guy in the mirror
watching me.

JULIAN:
There’s a man in the ladies’ room?

KORA:
No, he was in the mirror.

JULIAN:
Like it was a two way?

KORA:
Sorta. But as soon as I noticed
he was there, he disappeared.

JULIAN:
Okay, if you file a police report,
you’ll need a to have a little more
proof. Wait til you’re completely
sober and get a long enough look to
get a description.

KORA:
Can we just get out of here?

JULIAN:
Of course! You call me if he
causes you anymore problems!

KORA:
Thanks Skipper!

He gives her a hug, and they leave together.

INT. KORA’S LIVING ROOM. NIGHT.

Kora bursts into the living room, not paying attention to why her father was in the room.

KORA:
I’ve had the worst day!

HAROLD:
Kora…

KORA:
This town is full of perverted men!
Why can’t I seem to get rid of them?

HAROLD:
Kora-

KORA:
The fact that my blouse is ruined is
the least of my problems! That interview
I went to was a disaster! That man outright
said he liked my ta-tas! Can you believe
that? I wanted to kill him!

HAROLD:
KORA! We have a visitor!

Kora had been so busy ranting that she didn’t realize a man was sitting on the chair. ANDREW (looks like Greek Andrew but with a thin mustache and detective clothing) turns around.

KORA:
Oh! Oh gosh! I’m so sorry! I’ll
just go upstairs so you two can
talk alone.

Kora starts to go upstairs.

ANDREW:
Actually, I’m here to talk to you.

Kora stops and turns to him.

ANDREW:
Detective Andrew Zalman, homicide.

KORA:
Homicide?

ANDREW:
Yes, homicide. I’m investigating
the murder of John Keres.

KORA:
He’s dead? No way! I just saw him
this afternoon!

ANDREW:
I know. you, apparently, were the
last one to see him alive. We found
your resume on top of his desk. It
was covered in blood.

KORA:
Wow. So was he shot or stabbed?

ANDREW:
Why don’t you tell me?

KORA:
What’s that supposed to mean?

ANDREW:
Did you kill him?

KORA:
What? No!

ANDREW:
You just said you wanted to.

KORA:
Not literally! The guy was a
scumbag, but I’d never kill him
over it! For god’s sake, my best
friend’s a lawyer! I’m on the
law enforcement’s side!

ANDREW:
Alright, alright. If you didn’t
kill him, then you must’ve seen
who did.

KORA:
No. I was so made that I stormed
out. I used a pay phone to call my
friend to meet for drinks. Some
people passed by on the street, but
I wasn’t paying attention to their
faces.

Kora starts to head upstairs again.

ANDREW:
Where are you going?

KORA:
Upstairs. You’re added to list of
men who offended me today!

Kora starts going upstairs again.

ANDREW:
So, you have nothing else to say
to me?

KORA:
Yeah, that mustache makes you look
like a dweeb!

HAROLD:
Kora!

Kora goes upstairs. SOUND EFFECT-Kora slams her door.

ANDREW:
If she remembers anything else,
have her call me.

Andrew hands him a business card.

HAROLD:
Yes, sir.

As Andrew leaves, he feels his mustache and ponders.

Leave a Reply

