The Obsessive, Part 7

EXT. PARK BENCH. DAY.

Kora sits in a secluded part of a park, crying.

VELOS:
It’s okay, my love.
I’m here.

Kora looks up in horror.

KORA:
You’ve been following me,
haven’t you?

VELOS:
Every time you reincarnate,
my future wife!

KORA:
Future wife?

VELOS:
Yes. I’ve been trying to get
you for four thousand years,
and this time I’m gonna make
you mine!

KORA:
You killed those men, didn’t
you?

VELOS:
I will cut down anyone who
gets in the way of our love.
Now, come with me.

KORA:
Go where?

VELOS:
To the Underworld to marry
me.

KORA:
You’re out of your mind!

VELOS:
Come! You belong to me!
Come now!

Velos grabs her wrist and tries to pull her. She breaks free.

KORA:
Help! Help!

A jogger comes by to help. Velos disappears.

JOGGER:
Are you okay?

KORA:
A man tried to grab me!

JOGGER:
I’ll find a phone and call
the police!

KORA:
No! I mean, it’s okay. I just
wanna go home.

JOGGER:
Can I give you a ride?

Kora runs away. The jogger shrugs and keeps jogging.

INT. COURT ROOM. DAY.

A public court just finished wrapping up a case. Julian packs up his papers into a briefcase when Kora walks up to him.

JULIAN:
Kora? You’re a mess! What
happened?

KORA:
Can we talk privately?

JULIAN:
Of course. Let’s go to my
office.

He gathers up his things, and they leave.

INT. JULIAN’S OFFICE. DAY.

In Julian’s law office, Julian sits behind his desk. Kora sits in the client chair with her hand on her lip, clearly lost in thought.

JULIAN:
I have another case in fifteen
minutes, so spill it.

KORA:
Someone is definitely following
me! He tried to grab me just now.

JULIAN:
Woah, he tried to grope you?

KORA:
No, he was gonna kidnap me.

JULIAN:
Kora, you need to tell the
police!

KORA:
The police suspect me of two
murders now.

JULIAN:
Wait, they suspect you of murder?
Two of them?

KORA:
Yeah. That sleazebag who interviewed
me yesterday and this date I had at
the coffee shop. I’m connected to
both of them. But even if I wanted to
go to the cops, I don’t think it’d do
much good. I don’t think my stalker is
human.

VELOS:
You don’t think he’s a human?
What do you mean?

KORA:
All I know is he was in front
of me in one second and he
disappeared in the next second.
He said he’s been following me
for four thousand years!

JULIAN:
He’s delusional!

KORA:
No, I think he’s telling the
truth. He possessed my cat
last night too. He talked to
me through Micky!

Julian looks contemplative but non-believing.

KORA:
You don’t believe me, do
you?

JULIAN:
I’ve seen a lot of liars in
my career, and I don’t think
you’re being dishonest. But
how can I-?

He is cut off when Velos appears and puts an arm around Julian’s throat.

VELOS:
Who is this? Another potential
boyfriend?

Velos threatens Julian with a knife.

KORA:
No! He’s my best friend from my
childhood! And he’s gay!

Velos loosens his grip on Julian a little.

VELOS:
How do I know she’s telling
the truth?

JULIAN:
Check my desk drawer.

Velos opens the nearest drawer and sees a picture frame. CLOSE UP on the picture, which shows Julian kissing on an ex-boyfriend.

VELOS:
Alright, I believe you.

Velos lets go of Julian.

VELOS:
Just remember, I’m watching
you, Kora!

Velos disappears. Julian stands up and paces, trying to process what just happened. Beat.

KORA:
What do I do?

Julian opens his mouth but cannot think of an answer. His secretary walks in.

SECRETARY:
Mr. Aldwin, your four o’
clock is here.

JULIAN:
I gotta go, Kora. Keep yourself
surrounded by potential witnesses,
okay?

KORA:
Okay.

Kora leaves.

Leave a Reply

