The Obsessive, Part 8

INT. KORA’S KITCHEN. DAY.

Merna, who clearly just came back from her flight to London, sits at the table. Kora enters the house and tries to avoid eye contact. Merna sees her and gets worried.

MERNA:
Sweetheart! What happened?

KORA:
I wish I could tell you.

MERNA:
You can tell me anything, you
know that.

KORA:
It’s better if you don’t know.

Kora looks at the window and sees a bird on the sill staring at her oddly. She starts crying and runs upstairs. Merna wants to follow but hears Dylan come home. Dylan enters. She goes to talk to him.

INT. KORA’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Kora lays on her bed with a hot towel on her face and the radio playing. She feels a tap on her shoulder, shrieks, and hits the hand away. She takes off the towel to see a very confused Dylan.

KORA:
I’m sorry, I thought you were…
never mind.

Dylan looks at her like she is strange but decides not to press the issue.

DYLAN:
Mom says it’s dinnertime.

KORA:
Okay, I’ll be there in a
minute.

Dylan looks concerned but leaves. The radio plays “Somebody’s Watching Me.” Kora throws a pillow at it, causing it to fall down and break. Kora reluctantly goes down to dinner.

INT. KORA’S KITCHEN. NIGHT.

Harold, Merna, and Dylan sit at the table happily. Kora sits down, avoiding eye contact. She eats, not really paying attention to the conversation.

HAROLD:
Kora? Hello?

KORA:
Huh? What?

HAROLD:
Didn’t you hear your mother’s
question?

KORA:
No, sorry. It’s been a long day.

HAROLD:
Lots of job applications?

KORA:
Jobs? Oh right, that.

The family looks to each other for answers but just get a confused look from each other.

MERNA:
Are you feeling okay?

KORA:
I’m fine.

The napkins on the table fall over again. Kora starts crying and runs out of the room. The family turns to each other to discuss.

INT. KORA’S BATHROOM. NIGHT.

Kora goes into the bathtub with a full swimsuit on. Instead of taking a bath, she takes a shower. She goes quickly. She steps out and sees Micky there.

KORA:
Leave me alone! Please!

Dylan opens the door and the cat runs out.

DYLAN:
Oh, sorry! Wait, why are you
wearing a swimsuit? Did you
take a shower? You always take
baths!

KORA:
I don’t wanna talk about it.

DYLAN:
Is this something to do with
the murder that guy accused
you of?

KORA:
I don’t wanna talk about it.

DYLAN:
You’re going to have to explain
it sooner or later.

KORA:
I wish I could. I really wish
I could!

She pushes past him to leave. Dylan looks concerned.

INT. KORA’S ROOM. DAY.

Kora wakes up on her own. She looks around the room. She picks out an outfit, not paying attention to whether or not it coordinates. She gets dressed in front of her closet with her backside partly in the closet to keep watch. She gets her shirt on, but before she can get her pants on, Velos appears behind her. He holds her against him and kisses her neck.

VELOS:
You are so beautiful!

Kora breaks free and runs out the bedroom door.

INT. LIVING ROOM. DAY.

Kora runs to the front door. Velos magically appears before it.

VELOS:
Why do you run away from me?
All I wanna do is love you!

KORA:
I don’t love you! I don’t
even know who you are!

VELOS:
But I know you. I know every
inch of you!

He caresses her. Kora whimpers, not knowing what to do. A knock on the door is heard, and Velos disappears. Kora starts crying. The person who knocked lets himself in. It is Andrew. Kora turns, sees him, and she feels slightly annoyed but still more worried than anything else.

KORA:
Go ahead and yell at me if you
want. Right now, I’m too scared
to really care. Do whatever you
want with me! Apparently what I
want doesn’t matter!

She curls up on her couch and starts crying hysterically. Andrew sits next to her and sympathetically pats her on the back.

ANDREW:
You do have a man killing people
over you, don’t you?

Kora says nothing.

ANDREW:
Has he touched you?

KORA:
He’s held me, kissed my neck, and
tried to take me away…

ANDREW:
Do you know his name?

KORA:
I shouldn’t have told you that.
You’ll be next!

ANDREW:
I work surrounded by police
officers, and I live next to a
firehouse. There’s always
someone close by to help me, so
let him try! What’s his name?

KORA:
I don’t know.

ANDREW:
When does he bother you?

KORA:
All the time!

ANDREW:
I can assign police protection
to you.

KORA:
I don’t think that’ll help. He’ll
still be there.

ANDREW:
You know, most rapists get away with
their crime because women fail to
report them.

KORA:
I can’t report him. I really wish it
were that simple!

Andrew frowns but gets ready to leave.

ANDREW:
Just remember, you don’t have to be
a victim; you can fight back!

Kora contemplates this and sees some truth. Andrew starts to leave.

KORA:
Wait. Why did you come here?
Was someone else murdered?

ANDREW:
No one was murdered, not
yet anyways.

KORA:
Then why did you come?

ANDREW:
Just checking on you. What? Did
you think I was gonna just leave
you alone after you were connected
to two crime scenes?

Andrew grins, and Kora tries to smile but cannot muster one.

ANDREW:
I’m gonna figure this out. Whatever
you’re hiding, I’ll find out.

KORA:
It’d be a miracle if you solved
the case and figured everything
out considering I’m still trying
to understand it myself!

Andrew shakes his head, waves goodbye, and leaves. Kora runs to the kitchen.

INT. KITCHEN. DAY.

Kora goes over to the kitchen and thumbs through the phone book. She finds what she is looking for and picks up a phone that’s hanging on the wall.

KORA:
Hi! I don’t go there, but I’d like
to make an appointment with you.
(beat)
I have something I’m trying to
understand, and you seem like the
best person to help me.
(beat)
Okay, I’m gonna change and take
the BART down there.
(beat)
Thank you, bye!

Kora hangs up and runs upstairs.

2 thoughts on “The Obsessive, Part 8

  1. Trent Lewin says:

    Hmmmm…. interesting. Have to read again to totally figure out what’s going on, but definitely kept me reading.

Leave a Reply

