Amouraq, Part 2

INT. AIRPORT. DAY.

Stephen waits at an airport gate with a couple of bags. He thinks about the conversation he just had with his boss and the president and ponders if the concept of magic could possibly exist is true or not. The PILOT of his private jet walks up to him, and it takes Stephen a moment before he realizes that the pilot is standing there.

STEPHEN:
Oh, sorry. Just lost in
thought.

PILOT:
(sarcastic)
Really? That’s not what
I was going to say you
lost.

STEPHEN:
Oh, ha, ha. Is my plane
ready yet?

PILOT:
They’re fixing the brakes
on it. They still work,
but we wanna make sure
it’s a hundred percent.
The government wants to
make sure you come back
alive from each mission,
so we take your safety
very seriously.

STEPHEN:
My safety isn’t nearly as
important as the people
I serve.

PILOT:
Yes, always noble, I know.
Doesn’t it get lonely being
on this plane by myself all
the time?

STEPHEN:
If I had someone, why would
I bring her with me?

PILOT:
Well, I’m sure you meet
all kinds of foreign
women you could bring
aboard. I don’t mind
going on a ten or fifteen
minute break if you need it.

STEPHEN:
Always the gentleman, aren’t
you?

PILOT:
Hey, I’m just looking
out for you. You know
that.

STEPHEN:
I know. I’m alright, I’ll
find someone eventually.
There are just more important
things for me to worry about
right now.

The pilot sees Emily’s photo sticking out and picks it up.

PILOT:
Who’s the pretty lady?

Stephen snatches the photo out of his hand.

STEPHEN:
She’s part of my mission,
and it’s classified information.

PILOT:
Right, I understand. Remember
what I said about me taking a
break…

STEPHEN:
Shouldn’t you be fixing
my plane?

PILOT:
Where are we heading to?

STEPHEN:
Seattle.

PILOT:
Ah, not so dangerous then?

STEPHEN:
We’ll see.

EXT. AMELIA’S HOUSE. DAY.

Stephen takes his black Jaguar down a lovely, old fashioned neighborhood full of trees and comfortable-looking houses. He parks his car on the curb at Emily’s address, he walks up the stone path to the small porch, and he uses the door knocker. AMELIA (an elderly woman with light gray hair tied in a bun and glasses wearing a dress that was probably purchased when she was young) answers the door.

AMELIA:
Can I help you?

STEPHEN:
(holds up his badge)
Agent Stephen Knight, CIA.
May I come in?

AMELIA:
Sure. Would you like
some tea?

STEPHEN:
Yes, please.

Amelia leads Stephen inside.

INT. AMELIA’S LIVING ROOM. DAY.

Stephen enters into the living room, which is filled with old fashioned furniture and aura of warmness. He sits next an end table with a picture of a man smiling and a woman pretending to kiss him. It rests in an ornate, silver frame, and it sits next to an old lamp that shines down on it. Amelia enters the room holding a tray with a teapot and two cups on it. As she sits the tray down on a coffee table, she notices the photo that he is staring at.

AMELIA:
Oh, that’s my daughter,
Sylvie, and her husband,
Ronald, on their honeymoon
in Ireland. That was about
twenty years ago. Eleven years
later, they were killed in
a car crash.

STEPHEN:
I’m sorry…Does that mean
you’re Emily’s guardian?

AMELIA:
Yes, I’m sorry. I forgot to
introduce myself. I’m
Amelia.

They shake hands.

STEPHEN:
Pleasure.

AMELIA:
(picks up the photo sadly)
Poor Emily misses them
almost as much as I do.
But I guess, in a way,
it’s better they died this
way, quickly rather than
slowly and painfully like
the current heirs. They
both would’ve died through
this whole affair. Sylvie
would’ve died trying to
protect him, and he would
die trying to save Amouraq.
It’s all been very horrible
I’m assuming that’s why you’re
here.

STEPHEN:
The nightmare is gonna
end soon, starting now.
I’m going to protect
your granddaughter and
find out who the murderer
is. You wouldn’t happen to
have any ideas, would you?
Somewhere I could start?

AMELIA:
I’m fairly certain I
know who’s doing this.
His name is Xavier Ryder,
and he’s at the very bottom
of the list. He shouldn’t
even be on there! One of
his ancestors raped an heir
around thirteen fifty-seven.
His family has been at war
with Alexander’s ancestors
for ages, and Xavier is
trying to finalize his
family’s evil regime. He
won’t rest until he’s
dictator of Amouraq.

STEPHEN:
Wow, that’s terrible. Why
hasn’t the government
suspected him?

AMELIA:
I’m sure they have, but
they cant’ prove it. He’s
probably not the only bad
apple on that list either.
That’s just the problem.
Evil as he may be, he’s
a very cunning man. He
thinks he found a way
destroy King Alexander’s
family and country once
and for all. That’s why
you can’t fail! If Xavier
succeeds, Amouraq is truly
doomed.

STEPHEN:
Don’t worry; I’ve never
failed a mission before,
and I certainly won’t fail
one this important.
(beat)
How do you know all this?

AMELIA:
Ronald told me all about
it.

STEPHEN:
But what makes you so sure
it’s him?

AMELIA:
Prove me wrong.

STEPHEN:
(shrugs)
It makes sense. It’ll be
hard to find him I bet.

AMELIA:
His family locked Alexander’s
hidden forest. Maybe he’s
there.

STEPHEN:
Oh good, I was worried that
he’d be somewhere hard to find.
(beat)
If he’s there, how is it that
he’s killed people all over the
world?

AMELIA:
Oh, he wouldn’t do it alone.
He has assassins doing his
dirty work for him.

STEPHEN:
So, we could learn where
he’s hiding if one of his
assassins comes by and tells
us. They’re killing all over
the world too, so that won’t be
too easy either.

AMELIA:
Are your jobs ever easy
though? I’m sure this one
is a little different, and
it’s sort of unsettling to
you, but I’m sure you’ll
prevail as you always have.

STEPHEN:
Thanks. I’m not afraid.

AMELIA:
Yes, you are, but you’re
brave because you push
your fears aside for
something more important.
You and Emily are so alike!
If you run into Xavier, I’m
sure your courage will get
you through anything he puts
you through. And I’m sure
you’ll do just fine with
any of his assassins since
both you and Emily are much
smarter than the clowns he
hires.

Stephen titters a little. They sip their tea quietly for a moment, and suddenly Stephen’s intuition raises an alarm.

STEPHEN:
Where’s Emily right now?

Amelia looks at the big grandfather clock on the other side of the room as he bolts up.

AMELIA:
She should be on her way
home from school right now.
It’s not far from here.
Keep driving down this
street half a mile or so
until you hit McKinely Avenue.
She drives a silver Porsche
convertible,or as I call it,
half her inheritance blown
quickly.

STEPHEN:
I’m going to make sure
she gets home okay. I’ll
be right back.

AMELIA:
I know you will. You’ve
never failed before, right?

Amelia chuckles, and Stephen smiles even though he is feeling a little anxious about Emily right now. He leaves.

Leave a Reply

