Amouraq, Part 3

EXT. MCKINELY AVENUE. AFTERNOON

As Stephen pulls up to the intersection, he sees Emily’s car in the left turn lane. As her sign turns green and she starts to move, a dark green Cadillac drives straight and stops right in front of her, forcing Emily to slam on her breaks and swerve her car a hundred and eighty degrees. A large bald man and small, skinny man (both in black leather jackets) get out of the Cadillac and head towards Emily. Emily gets out of the car and tries to run, but they grab her. Stephen immediately gets out of her car and jumps to the roof of his car. He whips out a silver gun and shoots at the men. The skinny man falls down dead while the large man grabs Emily and runs away. Stephen slides down his car and runs after them. It doesn’t take him long to catch up to them. Stephen grabs the arm that the large man is using to hold Emily, forcing him to drop her, and Stephen slams the man against a nearby brick wall.

STEPHEN:
I know what you’re after.
Tell me why.

ASSASSIN:
Never!

Emily gets up, makes a claw out of her hands, and points her clawed hand towards the assassin.

EMILY:
Truth be told!

The assassin gets a strange look in his eyes.

ASSASSIN:
Xavier Ryder sent me. He’s
hidden in the part of Amouraq
where only one man before him
has been.

STEPHEN:
The magical part…

The strange look in his eyes is gone, and the large assassin tries to run away. Stephen pounces on him just as Seattle policemen arrive. Stephen shows the policemen his badge, and they let him carry on his business. He starts to walk towards Emily, but she takes a place beside him before he gets to where she was before. They walk down the street together.

EMILY:
This is just a wild guess,
but you’re an agent sent
here to guard me?

STEPHEN:
Yes, Miss Pageman, I’m
Stephen Knight. But let’s
not discuss anything out
here.

EMILY:
Okay, you can follow me
home.

STEPHEN:
Lead the way, Miss Pageman.

EMILY:
Call me Emily.

STEPHEN:
Okay, Emily.

They smile at each other as Emily gets into her car. Emily waits for Stephen to get in his car to move. She drives away, and Stephen follows her.

INT. AMELIA’S HOUSE. AFTERNOON.

Stephen and Emily have just explained to Amelia what happened. Amelia and Emily want to know what Stephen plans to do from here.

STEPHEN:
I have to go to Amouraq
because Xavier is there,
however, I don’t think
that I should leave Emily
here without protection.
I’m thinking of placing
a couple of body guards
here while I’m a way.

EMILY:
I need to go with you.

STEPHEN:
That’s out of the question.
I’m sorry, but you don’t
even have any kind of
weapon training.

EMILY:
I have an excellent
weapon, and I’ve had
years of training for
it.

Emily and Amelia exchange knowing looks as Stephen looks incredulous.

STEPHEN:
What kind of weapon is it?

EMILY:
Do you remember that
weird look the assassin
got in his eyes? He told
you everything you needed
to know from him, and
I’m sure you realize
how unusual that is.

STEPHEN:
Yeah, that was a little
weird, but has that got
to do with this weapon?

EMILY:
He was under a spell.
I’m a sorceress. You
see, the real secret
of Amouraq is that it
is a magical community.
We’ve kept it secret
since the beginning
when a genetic mutation
left certain people with
supernatural abilities.
Naturally, with all of
the problems that could
occur, we hid this from
the coses-

STEPHEN:
Coses?

Emily:
Unmagical people that
magic exists because
it could destroy our
race or even the balance
of nature. Didn’t your
boss tell you that I
might be a great help
to you?

STEPHEN:
(laughs in disbelief)
So what, are you all witches
and wizards like Harry Potter
or something?

EMILY:
Not exactly. Sorcerers
and sorceresses are born
with the supernatural
abilities within in them
for the most part, and
witches and warlocks have
to use magic wands. Witches
and warlocks are also
immortal. All of King
Alexander’s heirs are
mortal sorcerers and
sorceresses unfortunately.

STEPHEN:
I’m sorry, but I find
all this hard to believe.

EMILY:
Fine, I’ll prove it.
You see those stains you
got from the pursuit?

Emily waves her left hand from right back to left while she says the spell.

EMILY:
Optium clerivol.

The stains instantly disappear. Stephen feels both impressed and shocked simultaneously. The idea of people being able to do magic makes him feel a little scared at first. It takes him a moment to speak again.

STEPHEN:
Why did King Patrick hire
a cose? I mean,you guys
have these powers, and I
have nothing.

EMILY:
The Amouraqian government
tried to solve this
problem, but Xavier is
too powerful. Amouraq
does not have the
expertise on terrorists
and villains that the
United States does. It
takes more than magic to
solve problems, and you’ve
got something that no warlock
or sorcerer does, the experience
and intelligence to catch the
bad guys. Plus, King Patrick
is supposedly psychic, and he
foresaw a victory for us
through, well, you. You
were called to the task, so
trust me, you don’t have
nothing-you’ve got something
special.

Stephen looks as though he is still trying to soak this all in.

AMELIA:
You will keep this secret,
won’t you?

STEPHEN:
Of course! I’m a secret
agent; secrets are what
I do.

EMILY:
We should get going. King
Patrick doesn’t have much
time left, and he’s counting
on us. I’m going to go get
my things.
(exits the room)

AMELIA:
Emily has been prepared
for quite some time in
case something like this
happened.

STEPHEN:
She seems like a smart
girl.

AMELIA:
She is. She had to teach
herself how to do the
majority of her magic
since her father was
never around to do it.
Of course, there’s still
a lot she doesn’t know
because there is so
much out there to learn.

STEPHEN:
The best way to do that
is through experience.
I’m sure she’ll be just
fine.

AMELIA:
I hope so.

STEPHEN:
I won’t let anything
happen to her, I promise!

Emily comes out with a bag that is packed for a short trip.

STEPHEN:
Ready?

EMILY:
Just a second.

She gives Amelia a kiss on the cheek.

EMILY:
Bye, Grandma!

AMELIA:
Goodbye, Emily.
(to both of them)
Be careful, and good luck!

STEPHEN:
Thanks.

EMILY:
Okay, now I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

