Amouraq, Part 4

INT.STEPHEN’S JET. AFTERNOON.

Emily and Stephen are in his private jet, which looks almost like a modernly furnished apartment. BG-It has a couch and a plasma television for a small living room, a small kitchen, a round, white dining table, a bed on one end, and a couple of normal airplane seats on the other end. As Emily checks out his plane, Stephen watches her and becomes more curious about the magical world.

STEPHEN:
How do your powers work?

EMILY:
Well, it all depends on
how I position my hands
and my own concentration.
If I say the spell in
English, or any language
that’s not Amouraqian, the
spell is just temporary. If
I say it in Amouraqian, it’s
either permanent or lasts
until the desired effect.
Some really powerful spells
must be assisted by nature,
other people, etc. And it’s
not like we can do anything;
there are restrictions. Like
that truth spell, we can
only do that temporarily.
I think there’s a spell out
there that will last for
about fifteen minutes. My
father left me this book to
teach me all about it.

Emily pulls a book out of her bag and puts it on the table in front of Stephen. Stephen thumbs through it interestedly

STEPHEN:
Wow, magic is a lot more
complicated than I thought.

EMILY:
Yeah, like most things,
movies and t.v. makes it
more glamorous than it
actually is.

STEPHEN:
You know, I think there
are coses out there that
suspect that magic is real.

EMILY:
Yes, accidents happen. We
try to keep it secret, but
sometimes we slip or a
magical creature escapes
the island. Stuff like that
ends up in fairy tales or
hokey magazines. Amouraq has
a whole government branch
to keep this stuff supposedly
fictional to the rest of
the world.

STEPHEN:
Isn’t Amouraq a tourist
attraction?

EMILY:
Part of it is. You need
special permission to
enter the residential
part. The government
makes sure that tourists
don’t mess with anything
dangerous or strange.

STEPHEN:
So, other than hanging
garlic over their windows,
the residents of Amouraq live
a normal life. They have jobs
and school and all that.

EMILY:
Yeah. We may be able to
do magic, but we’re still
human.

Stephen appears to have no more questions, so Emily continues marveling his plane.

EMILY:
This is such a nice
plane you’ve got! You’re
so lucky!

STEPHEN:
Meh. I have to have one
‘cause I’m constantly
going on missions. It
saves money on airfare,
and it’s safer since I
don’t need to worry about
endangering other passengers.
Or myself for that matter.
My safety is top priority
for my department.

EMILY:
Wow. Sounds like you’re
really important.

STEPHEN:
You’re important too. You’re
going to be queen someday.

EMILY:
Well, maybe I am.

STEPHEN:
(looks at her very seriously)
You will be queen someday. I
promise I won’t let anything
happen to you.

EMILY:
There are some things that
you can’t control. Xavier has
a number of warlocks working
for him, and they kill their
victims in the worst possible
ways. The scariest and most
hurtful is when he makes all
of his victim’s organs and
bones slowly and painfully
turn into liquid until the
victim is nothing more than
a pile of muck. We don’t have
the ability to regenerate a
dead body, and even if we
could, often times he doesn’t
leave a body for us to burry.
Xavier will stop at nothing
to reach his goals, and he’ll
destroy anyone that stands in
his way.

STEPHEN:
You’re worried he’ll kill
me in the way you said.

EMILY:
Yes, very much so.

STEPHEN:
Don’t. I’ve been on
tons of missions where
there are traps and weapons
that I knew very little
about, but in the end,
anything can be overcome.

EMILY:
I’m still worried.

STEPHEN:
Please don’t be afraid. I’ve
never failed a mission before,
and I certainly won’t fail one
this important. You need to
relax more. Watch some t.v. or
get a snack. You’ll feel better.

Stephen pulls out a handheld game system and starts playing it. Emily stares at him incredulously.

EMILY:
How do you do this?

STEPHEN:
Do what?

EMILY:
Relax when you’re about
to step into complete
danger?

STEPHEN:
You get used to it.

Emily stares at him like he’s completely crazy.

STEPHEN:
Well, of course I’m scared,
but if I let my fear
overcome me, I can’t do
my job. If you’re going to
help me, you’re going to
have to learn to do the same.

EMILY:
Okay, I’ll try. Do you have
any ice cream in here?

STEPHEN:
I think there’s some in
the freezer.

Emily goes to the freezer and looks through it.

EMILY:
There’s no chocolate?

STEPHEN:
No, I’m allergic.

Emily serves herself some vanilla ice cream, waves her hand over it, and says a spell.

EMILY:
Convertae choco!

The ice cream changes into chocolate.

STEPHEN:
Cheater!

EMILY:
How is that cheating?

STEPHEN:
No, I’m talking about
this game.

EMILY:
Oh.
(laughs)

INT./EXT. STEPHEN’S PLANE. LATE AFTERNOON.

Stephen is looking in the refrigerator while Emily reads her magic book in the living room.

STEPHEN:
We should have dinner
now since we probably won’t
have time later. What would
you like to eat?

EMILY:
(joking)
Ooh, filet mignon.

STEPHEN:
You got it!

EMILY:
Really?

STEPHEN:
Yeah, just conjure yourself
some.

Emily pretends to glare at him, and Stephen grins as he brings out some food to make a quick meal. Suddenly, they feel a huge jolt! They can see out the window that they’re moving much faster than they should be!

EMILY:
What’s going on?

Stephen opens the door to the cockpit, and Emily follows him. They see that nothing is there! Stephen gets into the pilot’s seat and tries to steer the plane, but he can’t move any of the controls.

STEPHEN:
It won’t move! It’s jammed
or something!

EMILY:
It must be under a spell.

Emily sticks her right hand in the air like a school child might.

EMILY:
Slodidium!

The plane slows down.

EMILY:
I can’t reverse the spell,
but I bought us some time
before the plane crashes
into the water.

STEPHEN:
We need to jump. There
should be life jackets in
here.

Stephen looks in the compartment it should be, and nothing is there. The seats that can be used as a flotation device are also gone. Stephen grabs Emily’s bag.

STEPHEN:
We’ll try to stay afloat
with this.

Stephen opens the door, and they both see that they are about fifty feet from the water.

EMILY:
This is gonna hurt!

They take a deep breath and jump. They hit the water with a huge splash. They go underwater for about thirty seconds before they resurface. They can see land in the distance, so they swim towards it. When they are far enough away from the plane, they turn around and see the plane crash into the water with tremendous force. It made a huge wave that pushed them a little farther towards the land. Without communicating to each other, they swim towards the land.

Leave a Reply

