Amouraq, Part 9

EXT. THE INFERNO CIRCLE. EARLY EVENING

At this point, Stephen and Emily are sore and exhausted. They haven’t eaten all day, and they are growing restless. They keep walking, but it is difficult.

EMILY:
Are we ever going to find
Xavier, or is he going to
keep hiding behind his
monsters?

STEPHEN:
We’ll find him eventually,
and we’ll keep knocking out
any traps that come in our
way.
(beat)
How big is this island
anyways?

EMILY:
I don’t remember, but
it wouldn’t help ‘cause
this part of the island
probably isn’t even on
the map.

STEPHEN:
How come no one’s ever
found it? I mean, people
have been looking for it
for centuries.

EMILY:
It’s magic. I think it
was some of Xavier’s
ancestors that sealed
this place.

STEPHEN:
Why?

EMILY:
It’s where Alexander made
his victory over…over…

Emily drops down to the floor but is still conscious. Stephen kneels down beside her, trying to help her back up.

STEPHEN:
Emily! Are you okay?

EMILY:
I’m just exhausted. I don’t
know how you can do this.

STEPHEN:
It’s painful, but I tread
on because I know there’s
something more important
than my complaints.

EMILY:
I know, for the good of
the nation.

STEPHEN:
Emily, you are the nation.

EMILY:
I’m not going to be queen;
I’m too weak. I’m not good
enough.

STEPHEN:
You are good enough! There’s
a strong heart pumping in
there. You’re tired, you’ve
been thrown down and beaten,
but you are still here, and
so am I. I’m not going to let
you give up. Well, I can’t
force you to do anything, but
if you can’t go on, I’m going
to find Xavier myself!

EMILY:
No! You’ll never make it
on your own!

Stephen gets up and starts to leave, so Emily gets up and grabs his arm.

EMILY:
You’re not going to die for
me!

STEPHEN:
I will if I have to.

EMILY:
You won’t have to. You’re
right. I can’t let Xavier
do that to you. Or Amouraq.
What was I thinking? I’m
glad King Patrick hired
you. We make a good team.

Suddenly they both become aware that Emily is still touching his arm. Before either of them can react, there is suddenly a huge updraft. The wind leads to a path behind them that turns into a trail of fire! They run as fast as they can, but the fire follows them. It gets so close that it could almost lick their shoes. They run into a circle of trees, and it almost feels like they’ve outrun it. Right then, the circle of trees turns into a circle of flames! Emily and Stephen back into the middle, and the fire creeps closer and closer to them.

STEPHEN:
There’s no way out!

EMILY:
You just convinced me to
never give up, so I’m
gonna keep going!

STEPHEN:
How? Are you gonna sprout
wings and fly?

EMILY:
No, we both are!

Emily waves her left hand over both of their heads and says her spell.

EMILY:
Bird!

They each change into a sparrow just as the inferno is about to touch them. They fly straight into the air, and when they feel like they’re about to change, they land on the ground. The flame is still chasing them. They keep on running, ignoring all of their pain. They were willing to run forever, and it certainly felt like that when suddenly the flame when out. They stand still for a moment, wondering if more flame would pop out of nowhere, but nothing is happening.

EMILY:
Why did it go out? I’m glad
but I’m very suspicious.

STEPHEN:
We must be close. I think
he put out the fire ‘cause
he didn’t wanna put himself
in…

In the distance, he spies an old, wooden two story house that had the aura of abandonment and an eerie wickedness.

STEPHEN:
That must be it! We found it!
Right when we thought…aw, we
don’t need to keep talking
about what just happened!
Let’s-

The light that Emily had conjured earlier goes out.

EMILY:
Oh, that doesn’t matter.
We’re almost there! Let’s
go get him for Amouraq!

STEPHEN:
Long live the queen!

They are feeling pumped up on adrenaline right now. They slap hands and cheer as if they were watching a football game, and they start running out of exhilaration this time. When they are right next to the house, it is so dark that they do not see the square hole and fall in!

Leave a Reply

