Temca Academy, Part 2

INT. ANIELLE AND CIRCE’S DORM. NIGHT.

As she skips out of the room, Anielle stares at her in disbelief. After a moment, she gets over it and goes over to her desk. She pulls out what looks like a laptop, but when she opens it, a 3-d cloud with a navigation screen that looks like a mall directory.

ANIELLE:
Show buddy list.

The image instantly moves to a list with pictures on the side. Anielle sees at the top that PETER (a haughty-looking man with very square features, dark hair, and glasses that make him look smart) is online.

ANIELLE:
Message Peter.

It instantly shifts to a window that looks almost like his head is in the room. He is writing something when he notices Anielle on the screen.

PETER:
Oh, Anielle, darling, good
to see you.

ANIELLE:
I’m so relieved to see you.
I’ve only been here ten
minutes and already I feel
I walked into a nightmare.

PETER:
Yes, dear, we all had that
uncomfortable year in the
dorm. Do try to make the best
of it, okay?

ANIELLE:
The brochure said the Doctor
Olivia Ganges house has the
biggest rooms on campus, but
this room isn’t even that big!
I guess I got lucky then…

PETER:
There you go, that’s the spirit!
I’d hate to cut our conversation
short, but I have a big meeting
in the morning and need my rest,
so good night.

ANIELLE:
Good night. I love you.

PETER:
Hmm? Oh, right, me too.

Peter signs off, and it goes back to the buddy list. Anielle shut down the laptop. She gets her pajamas on and brings her potion and cup into the hall.

 

INT. DORM HALL. NIGHT.

The halls have quieted down for the most part. Anielle sees a group of guys using their sceptors to pass a ball to each other. She ignores it until the ball hit her in the head.

ANIELLE:
Um, ow!

GEORGE (a olive skinned man with moderate looks and a muscular build) comes running over.

GEORGE:
Sorry. Didn’t mean to hit you
with one of my balls.

ANIELLE:
Excuse me?

GEORGE:
Oh, that came out wrong. Wow,
you wanna go to bed already?
No! I swear I’m not trying to
hit on you. Not that you’re
ugly, but I…

ANIELLE:
Why do you keep talking?

GEORGE:
I don’t know. You’re a Chadrick,
and from the sounds of your
boyfriend’s voice, someone you
know could have me killed. You
intimidate me, and when I get
nervous, I keep talking…

ANIELLE:
How did you know who I am?

GEORGE:
The walls are paper thin.
Well, I’m George.

ANIELLE:
That’s nice. I’m going to
wash my teeth now. Try to
keep it down.

As Anielle goes to the bathroom, George rejoins his friends, who make fun of him.

 

INT. GIRL’S BATHROOM. NIGHT.

As Anielle mixes a tooth cleaning potion, TOCI (a Cuban girl who is dressed very bohemian) comes out of one of the stalls. She washes her hands next to her.

TOCI:
I like your pajamas.

ANIELLE:
Oh, thanks. It’s made by
Antonio Valente. It was only
three hundred pieces!

TOCI:
Only? That was a whole paycheck
for me when I worked at the
Other World Tribune.

ANIELLE:
Wow. Being poor must take away
a lot of freedom.

TOCI:
(shrugs)
The things I love don’t cost
money. Or very little. I’m
studying botany, which is
relatively cheap. I can sell
healing potions until I save
up for an apothecary shop.

ANIELLE:
That sounds decent I guess.
I’m going to run Father’s
broomstick factory. I’ll
make so much money that I can
do whatever I want!

TOCI:
You know, when it comes to
happiness, money doesn’t make
a difference.

ANIELLE:
Ha! Only poor people say that!

TOCI:
Uh huh. Well, good luck trying
to get sleep tonight, Princess!

Toci leaves. Anielle is a little baffled but rinses her mouth the potion, spits it out, and leaves trying not to worry about it.

Leave a Reply

