Temca Academy, Part 3

INT. ANIELLE’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Anielle tries to sleep, but Circe has a squeaky snore that bothers her. Plus, she ca hear George and his friends playing loud music and chatting drunkenly. She hears a knock next door.

GEORGE (O.S.):
Who’s this?

RA (O.S.):
This is your residential advisor…
again! Quiet time began an hour ago!

GEORGE’S FRIEND (O.S.):
Oh, sorry, we’re being very rude.
Do you want some Phantom beer?

RA (O.S.):
Go to bed!

The door is slammed. They turn the music off. Anielle hopes to get some sleep.

CIRCE:
(sleeping)
Master, don’t hurt them!
Let me do it!

Anielle’s eyes widen fast. She looks at the clock and groans. She decides to get up and go back to the bathroom.

INT. GIRL’S BATHROOM. LATE NIGHT.

As Anielle washes her hands, the door opens and in walks JOSHUA (a very handsome man with dark hair that is slightly curled, blue eyes, and a trim body). Joshua wears a dusty uniform, and his walk does not seem completely balanced. He did not expect to see Anielle there and it throws him off a bit.

JOSHUA:
Oh, I’m sorry. I thought this
was empty. I’m supposed to
clean it.

ANIELLE:
You can come in. I’m almost
done.

Joshua staggers a little, and Anielle notices.

ANIELLE:
Have you been drinking?

JOSHUA:
Only a little.

ANIELLE:
I know it’s the first day
and everyone’s celebrating,
but if you gotta work, you
should wait to drink.

JOSHUA:
I wasn’t celebrating. I…
(beat)
Never mind.

ANIELLE:
Well, it’s none of my business
what kind of problems you have,
but you really shouldn’t be
drinking when you’re on the
clock. You could lose your
job and then it’d make life
that much worse for you.

JOSHUA:
It’s hard though. I can’t
stop dwelling on it, and
when I drink, it helps me
think about it less.

ANIELLE:
Well, you gotta figure out
another way to deal with your
problems. At least at work.
You’re uncoordinated, and you
work with dangerous potions.
You could get hurt.

JOSHUA:
What do you care anyways? I
live downstairs and I can
hear all about you. You don’t
seem to care about anything
but money and living comfortably.
You’ve probably never had a
real problem in your life!

ANIELLE:
Just because I have money
doesn’t mean I don’t have
problems.

JOSHUA:
Like what kind of problems do
you have? Really?

ANIELLE:
I’m not going to sit here and
listen to you berate me! I’m
sorry I felt an ounce of
sympathy for you, and now I’m
leaving!

She exits.

 

INT. DORM HALL. NIGHT.

Anielle leaves the bathroom in a huff. Joshua follows her. She does not go to her room but walks down the hall in anger.

JOSHUA:
You actually felt sorry for me?

ANIELLE:
Yes. I’m not a heartless monster.

JOSHUA:
Well, you act like you’re so
much better than us, and to
sympathize with someone, you
gotta get down to their level.
I don’t think you care. You’d
gladly trample on people’s
happiness to please yourself.

ANIELLE:
If that’s true, which it’s not,
then why do you care? Why is
it so important for you to
prove I’m a monster? You’re
not very nice.

JOSHUA:
I’m not very nice? You-

 

INT. KITCHEN HALL. LATE NIGHT.

EST-They are at the hall that’s right near a small kitchen, and the common room is not too far away. Right before the door leading to the stairs, there is a laundry vortex. Anielle and Joshua forget their argument when they see George stuck in the vortex, clearly stuck. Toci is trying to pull him out.

ANIELLE:
What the heck happened?

GEORGE:
I have no idea!

TOCI:
I thought I could get him
out without having to call
the rescue healers, but he
is stuck in there pretty
good.

ANIELLE:
Maybe the three of us could
try.

They all pull, but he does not budge.

GEORGE:
Okay, now I’m getting scared.

ANIELLE:
(to Joshua)
Does this just go to the laundry
room?

JOSHUA:
Yeah, why?

ANIELLE:
I’m thinking we gotta push him
in.

JOSHUA:
The laundry room is closed at
night.

TOCI:
Why?

JOSHUA:
If someone’s in the laundry
room in the middle of the
night, they ain’t doing laundry.

GEORGE:
Yeah!

ANIELLE:
Don’t you have the keys?

JOSHUA:
No, only the laundry crew has
them.
(beat)
But the window is usually open
a crack for ventilation. Maybe
we can pry it open.

TOCI:
And if we can’t, he can just
spend the night there. There’s
usually one person who forgot
their laundry down there, so
he can use that as a pillow.

ANIELLE:
Okay, let’s do it.

They push pretty hard. At first, he does not budge, but slowly he gets in more. Eventually, the vortex swallows him. Anielle, Toci, and Joshua run downstairs.

Leave a Reply

