Temca Academy II, Part 3

EXT. TEMCA ACADEMY. NIGHT.

BG-The school is old but very well kept up. It consists of brick buildings and tons of trees and plants that line the campus. Anielle and Joshua fly over it.

ANIELLE:
See, I told you my way was faster.

JOSHUA:
Well, excuse me for trying to save us
a little bit of time.

ANIELLE:
But why didn’t you just listen to me?

JOSHUA:
I’m training to be a crime solver-I
know the skies.

ANIELLE:
My dad is the leading broom
manufacturer in the country. I made
the trip a dozen times before!

EXT. DOG HOUSE. NIGHT.

Their dorm is called the Doctor Olivia Ganges House. BG-a lot of students are flying in or appearing by portals. A lot of parents are helping their freshmen move in and there is floating luggage everywhere. Toci is waiting for them in front of the dorm, and she can hear them arguing as they approach.

TOCI:
Rough journey, I take it?

ANIELLE:
Oh, you know how men are
about directions.

JOSHUA:
And you know how women are
about nagging?

TOCI:
Ready for a new year?

ANIELLE:
Yeah, I can’t wait to see what monsters
we battle this year.

TOCI:
Oh come on! Like that’s gonna happen
again! Think about all of the new stuff
we get to learn! I cant’ wait to see my plants!

Toci sees their lack of enthusiasm.

TOCI:
Don’t you guys think that this year
will be fun?

JOSHUA:
If by fun you mean a lot of work,
then yes, it’ll be lots of fun.

TOCI:
But you like your work!

ANIELLE:
Yes, but between classes, his job, and
my new job at that shoe store, we won’t
have a lot of time to spend together.

TOCI:
I know like ten places on campus
you can do it between classes!

ANIELLE:
I meant actual time to talk and stuff.

TOCI:
Oh come on! You guys gotta do it as
often as possible! Life is short-you’ve
gotta have fun whenever you have the
chance! Plus, I don’t get to have sex,
so you gotta do it in my honor.

JOSHUA:
That’d be weird.

CIRCE (thin, blonde, fake tan, clothes are girly/slutty) goes by and sees Anielle.

CIRCE:
Hi! It’s my old roommate! How was
your summer? Was it ducky plucky
like mine?

ANIELLE:
Ducky plucky?

CIRCE:
Good! I’m so excited! I got at Dragon
Heart Shoes!

ANIELLE:
The Dragon Heart Shoes that’s on Merlin
Avenue?

CIRCE:
Right-a-roony!

ANIELLE:
Crap! The good news just keeps on
coming!

Anielle goes inside. Circe looks confused.

JOSHUA:
She works at the same one you do.

Circe looks excited.

CIRCE:
Really? Come back, my new
coworker!

She runs after her. Toci starts to go inside, but Joshua grabs her shoulder.

JOSHUA:
Do me a favor and find what Anielle’sring size is.

TOCI:
Okay, but wouldn’t it be easier just
to get her, like, a necklace then?

JOSHUA:
Uh, no, it’s kind of a special ring…

TOCI:
Why? Does it have a spell on it? She
could probably use the calming effect
ring or the…what? Are you blushing?
Oh, it’s a seduction ring!
(giggles mischievously)
No? What powers does it have?

JOSHUA:
It has the power to ask her to marry me.

She gasps and squeals like a school girl.

TOCI:
Oh my God! You’re gonna get married?
When? Who’s coming? I know some
gardens that will-!

JOSHUA:
I’m going to save up for the wedding.
We can stay engaged for a while. We’re
gonna spend a lot of time apart, so I just
want her to know how much I care about
her, even when I can’t be there.

TOCI:
Awwwww!

Toci stoops down and grabs an herb.

TOCI:
This should help with the digestive
problem.

JOSHUA:
Huh?

He sees that Anielle has come back out.

JOSHUA:
Oh, right, gotcha!

ANIELLE:
Oh, plant stuff. I should have guessed.
So, Toci, I see you’re in the mood for
planting. You’ll love our room.

TOCI:
Why?

INT. ANIELLE AND TOCI’S ROOM. NIGHT.

Anielle and Toci’s two beds, two dressers, and two desks along with their knick-knacks and posters are covered in a leafy vine. The whole room is plastered with it.

TOCI:
Oh, I forgot that without water,
they grow uncontrollably! No matter-
I can fix this.

Toci waves her scepter around to prune it. George enters carrying a bottle of La Cupacabre Tequila.

GEORGE:
Hole-la!

TOCI:
You’re pronouncing it wrong!

GEORGE:
That’s how it’s spelled! Wait, is
it pronounced ha-lah?

Toci hits her forehead.

GEORGE:
Anyone up for some pre-semester
partying? I bought this stuff cuz it
has a stronger kick, which my people
enjoy.

TOCI:
Go ahead, try some!

GEORGE:
Alright, I will!

He opens the bottle and takes a sip. He immediately gags and spits out fire.

GEORGE:
I guess it takes a while to get used to.

He takes another sip and tries to hold it down.

GEORGE:
Excuse me.

He leaves.

TOCI:
This plant may take me a while to trim.
And Joshua’s new roommate is gonna be
in the baño for a while, so now might be
a good time for some alone time with
your man!

She shrugs and leaves. One of the plants emits a small burp.

TOCI:
Oh no! It ate my singing nectarine bush!

INT. JOSHUA AND GEORGE’S ROOM. LATE NIGHT.

BG-George’s half of the room has a bunch of Mexican souvenirs along with his old posters of scantily clad girls and broom football teams. Joshua’s side looks like a crime solver office. Joshua lays in bed spooning Anielle.

ANIELLE:
No!

JOSHUA:
I didn’t say anything.

ANIELLE:
I know what you were thinking.

JOSHUA:
Okay, okay.
(beat)
How about now?

ANIELLE:
How fast do you think you I’d change
my mind?

JOSHUA:
Is that a yes?

ANIELLE:
No! Can’t you see that I’m not in
the mood?

JOSHUA:
I thought you said it helps you sleep.

ANIELLE:
Yeah, but only when I wanna do it. I
keep thinking about Babelsama.

JOSHUA:
Eiww! No wonder you’re turned off!

ANIELLE:
No, it’s just that…I feel like we got off
too easily; like he’s an evil genius, so
how could merely going to prison stop him?

JOSHUA:
Look, ten years ago my boss locked up a
guy who used to magic people’s brains out
and then sell it as pie to the townspeople.
He said if he found a way to get out, he’d
go to Europe and do it again. And he’s tried
to escape too. A decade later, and he’s still
in prison. So, if our prison can hold the brain
harvester, I think we’re safe.

ANIELLE:
I just get the feeling something bad is
going to happen. Something is out there.
Like that woman!

Anielle darts up and looks out the window. INTERCUT- outside, Madame Fate (in a black hood, face is hidden) posts a flier on a lamp post. INTERCUT BACK to Anielle.

ANIELLE:
Who is that woman? Why is she posting
fliers in the middle of the night?

JOSHUA:
Relax!

He pulls her back into bed.

JOSHUA:
Is this because of the murder case I’m
working on? You know my job is risky,
there’s nothing to-.

ANIELLE:
My job is risky too. Rescue healer. Wait,
that’s my career. I work in a shoe store
(groans)

JOSHUA:
Don’t worry so much! Or at least, not
so much. Now, unless you’ve changed
your mind about-.

ANIELLE:
No!

JOSHUA:
Then I’m going to get some rest.
Good night.

ANIELLE:
Night.

Joshua closes his eyes. Anielle looks uneasy but eventually she closes her eyes too.

Leave a Reply

