Temca Academy II, Part 4

EXT. DOG HOUSE. MORNING.

Anielle and Toci walk to class together.

TOCI:
Oh, I can’t wait for my classes this
semester! There’s so much I have to
learn about business! I’m so close to
owning my own apothecary! And Chad
is helping me out cuz that business stuff
is hard! Whew, I’m tired!

ANIELLE:
(sarcastically)
Yeah, you sound tired.

TOCI:
Yeah, I spent all night clearing the plants
in our room. It didn’t help that George passed
out on my bed. Oh, and I got an idea how I’m
gonna deflower Chad! I have this herb with
a seductive sedative-.

ANIELLE:
That’s date rape.

TOCI:
I know he wants to do it, but he’s
got these morals that don’t even…
What are you staring at?

Anielle looks at a flyer on the lamp post. It reads “See your future with Madame Fate.” The address at the bottom center has a picture of Madame Fate’s eyes.

ANIELLE:
I saw her putting up flyers around midnight
last night. It’s so strange! Why would someone
do that?

TOCI:
Maybe she didn’t wanna draw attention
to herself.

ANIELLE:
Then why would she put up flyers at all?

TOCI:
Oh well, we’re going to be late for class!

ANIELLE:
There’s something wrong with her. I just
got this bad feeling about her, like somehow
she’s connected to Babelsama.

TOCI:
That’s ridiculous! Come on! If we miss role
call, we could be marked as absent! I want
to pass this class-don’t make me fail!

ANIELLE:
Alright, alright. Don’t get your scepter in
a knot! But don’t say I didn’t warn you.

TOCI:
Warn me about what?

ANIELLE:
Danger of some sort.

TOCI:
Whatever. There could be cute guys in
the class too! What? I can still look.

Anielle rolls her eyes, and they leave.

INT. HEALING HERBOLOGY CLASS. MORNING.

BG-the room looks more like a green house than a class, but there are a few rows of seats and a blackboard at the end. Toci sits comfortably in this surrounding while Anielle looks at oddly.

TOCI:
Isn’t it wonderful?

ANIELLE:
It looks like a rain forest threw up in
a classroom.

TOCI:
I had half of my classes here last year.
I love it! Professor Rohan is like my
white twin.

ANIELLE:
Oh great, there’s two of you!

TOCI:
Wow, there’s some nice talent here
today. Look at those boys!

Anielle glances over to a group of obnoxious boys. One of them, ALBERTO (a guido) winks at Anielle. Anielle looks disgusted.

TOCI:
Ooh, you should talk to him!

ANIELLE:
Even if I was single, I still wouldn’t.

Alberto gets up and walks up to her.

ALBERTO:
Name’s Alberto. You must be Anielle.
I recognize you from “Broomstick Monthly.”
Your father made my broom.

ANIELLE:
Am I supposed to be impressed?

ALBERTO:
You wanna be impressed? Come to my
room tonight.

ANIELLE:
I have a boyfriend.

ALBERTO:
A three way, alright!

ANIELLE:
Ugh, go away you pig!

ALBERTO:
Alright, but I’ll be back. It’s gonna happen.
Madame Fate said I’d sleep with a famous
woman this year.

ANIELLE:
And you believed her?

ALBERTO:
She’s not some nobody making vague
predictions. She knows things, like for real.

PROFESSOR ROHAN (a hippie looking woman) enters the room. Alberto reluctantly returns to his seat.

PROFESSOR ROHAN:
Sorry I’m late. I had a problem with a
snapping lily. Welcome to Healing Herbology!
(beat)
Toci, didn’t you already take this class?

TOCI:
Yes, as part of my required classes. I’m
taking the second level of this class too,
but I thought I’d take this as an elective.

Professor Rohan shrugs and begins her first lesson. Toci gives Anielle a thumbs up, and Anielle rolls her eyes.

INT. EMERGENCY RESPONSE CLASS. AFTERNOON.

Joshua is sitting at a desk looking at an engagement ring. BG-a classroom so neat and sterile that it almost looks like a hospital room. There is a large space in the front with a podium where PROFESSOR BETSERAI (stern looking, wearing a rescue healer-looking outfit) sifts through his papers. Anielle enters the room, and Joshua quickly stows away the ring. Anielle notices the secretive behavior.

ANIELLE:
What are you hiding from me?

JOSHUA:
Nothing. I mean, it’s just…evidence
from the case I’m working.

ANIELLE:
Then why did you bring it out in a classroom?

JOSHUA:
Because…I’m not that smart.

ANIELLE:
Can you show me later?

JOSHUA:
Absolutely, I will show you later!

Anielle raises her eyebrows but cannot say anything because Professor Betserai is ready to begin.

BETSERAI:
Good morning class. Welcome to the most
important class you’ll ever take. This is
Emergency Response. No matter what your
vocation is, chances are you’ll have to deal
with at least one emergency in the course of your
career. I will teach you the proper spells, potions,
and procedures you will need to get through an
emergency situation. These emergencies can range
from minor to severe. Chances are you’ve already
experienced an emergency. Who would like to
share an example? Yes, you.

BLONDE GIRL:
One time I was getting a spa treatment, and I
broke a nail! And I had a hot date afterwards!

BETSERAI:
Wow. I have a feeling you’ll learn a lot from
this class. Who can give me a better example?
Yes, you, in the back.

BRUNETTE GIRL:
Madame Fate told me I would be caught in
a fire before the semester was over. I don’t
know what to do in a fire!

BETSERAI:
Before the semester is over, you will know if
a fire should-

BRUNETTE GIRL:
If? There’s no if, it’s gonna happen! She told
me things about myself I haven’t told anyone.
You can’t fight your destiny!

BETSERAI:
Right.
(beat)
Anyways, why don’t I just start
with today’s lesson? Unless someone
has an actual story of life or death they’d
like to share?

Joshua and Anielle exchange looks but silently decide not to share their story.

INT. CAFETERIA. AFTERNOON.

Joshua, Anielle, Toci, and George sit at a small table by the kitchen. BG-a bunch of tables that are about half full. Students are eating while the workers prepare food.

JOSHUA:
I can’t wait to get started! The other guys
are having a blast. Like Anderson was called
over a domestic dispute. This woman kept
trying to cast her scale into a dumpster and
the husband kept summoning it back. Anderson
looks in the dumpster and, get this, finds a dead
body!

The girls gasp.

TOCI:
So, he had to turn the case over
to a crime solver?

JOSHUA:
Yes, but he’ll be a witness at the trial.
So, both me and Anderson are involved
in murder cases, only I’ll be the expert
witness in mine.

GEORGE:
But only if you live.

ANIELLE:
That’s not funny! I don’t like the idea
of him roaming around Sepia Street.

JOSHUA:
It comes with the job. When you’re a
rescue healer, you’ll have to go down
there too.

ANIELLE:
Yeah, but I’m there to heal, so they don’t
wanna hurt me. You know how they feel
about peace officers. This can’t be legal-
to hand a murder case to a junior crime solver!

Before Joshua can respond, a man at the next table jumps and panics.

MAN 1:
(screams)
A bee stung me! It stung me! Madame
Fate was right-I’m gonna die from a
bee sting!

Toci reaches into her bag and pulls out an herb. Anielle walks up to the man, puts the herb on top of the wound, and rubs gently. She lifts the plant, which now holds the stinger. The wound itself begins to heal.

MAN 1:
But…but…she said…

ANIELLE:
Some “psychic” took your money and
said you’d die, and you’re disappointed
that you’re gonna live? Even if it was in
the cards or whatever, it can’t be
guaranteed because we have free will.

MAN 1:
Well, there could be another sting that
will be fatal.

ANIELLE:
Just get an anti-venom plant and you
won’t die.

MAN 1:
You weren’t there. She knows things.
But I accept my fate.

There is a small buzz in the cafeteria about Madame Fate. Anielle is annoyed as she sits back down.

ANIELLE:
Can you believe that? I don’t even
get a thank you for saving his life!

GEORGE:
Why would he die though? He didn’t
seem allergic.

JOSHUA:
You and I have to prepare ourselves
for thankless rescues. Will I get a thank
you for solving the murder of a dead
prostitute? Probably not. But that’s
not why we do it. We do it cuz it’s
the right thing to do.

TOCI:
I do it cuz it feels good! Well, at least
I used to. Now it’s just a matter of principle.
If he expects me to me monogamous, he
has to start putting out!

ANIELLE:
For the love of Merlin, can you stop thinking
about your cooch for one minute?

TOCI:
I try, but it’s not easy!

GEORGE:
Great, now I can’t finish my tacos!

Anielle rolls her eyes and sighs.

Leave a Reply

