Forgotten Society, Part 2

EXT. MORNING STAR APARTMENTS. NOON.

Curtis looks at the piece of paper Miguel gave him and looks back at the apartments. It is a very tall building with a bland white paint job. The window trims are navy blue as well as the door. Curtis enters the the building.

INT. RENEE’S APARTMENT. AFTERNOON.

Curtis knocks on the door, and it opens on its own. He steps inside and is surprised to see the place is vibrantly decorated with modern-looking knick-knacks and glass sculptures. There is a big television on a black-wooden shelf, a glass coffee table, and two black leather couches. Curtis spots a glass butterfly that bleakly reflects the light coming from a rectangular window. He sees a figure sitting by the window wearing a black hood, which covers the face, sleek black pants, and black boots.

CURTIS:
Excuse me, Warner? Trebla said that
you could help me.

He sees the figure take a drag from a cigarette.

CURTIS:
He told me you were the best. I
want to fight against the dragons.

The figure dryly laughs.

CURTIS:
I’m doing this with or without your
help. I may not have your training,
but I’m willing to go the distance.

Curtis turns to leave.

RENEE:
Wait!

Curtis is surprised to hear a female’s voice. He turns back to see RENEE (who has a high, brunette ponytail, golden brown eyes, pale skin, and dark make up). Without her hood, her curvy figure is revealed. She takes another drag off of her cigarette.

RENEE:
You’re surprised I’m a woman,
aren’t you?

CURTIS:
Well, yes. When Trebla said you were
a weapons expert, I assumed you
were a tough, old man, kind of a
Harrison Ford type. But this is
much better!

Renee is surprised by that remark.

RENEE:
What?

CURTIS:
Never mind. I want to know whether
or not you’ll join me now in the
Rebellion.

RENEE:
Look, bud, I don’t do that anymore.

CURTIS:
Why not?

RENEE:
I’m tired of saving the world and getting
no recognition or even respect for what
I do. This is a dirty, thankless job! People
use you. After the job is done, I’m back
to being forgotten. It might even be
worth it if all my efforts made a
difference. They keep coming, no
matter how many of them I kill
off. So, forget it. I’m done being
a worthless superhero!

CURTIS:
So, you just gave up?

RENEE:
Yeah, I did.
(beat)
Look, I’m not about to be
convinced to go back only
to be let down again.

CURTIS:
What, you’re going to let them
take over?

RENEE:
What difference does it make who’s
in charge? It’s not like my life is
going to change. Even if we kill
every last one, I’ll still be
stuck here with my shitty apartment
and my crappy, go nowhere job.
I’ll probably die early, and my cat
will eat my remains before anyone
even notices that I’m gone.

CURTIS:
That’s the life you want?

RENEE:
I don’t have a choice.

CURTIS:
You do have a choice! You can
ditch your old lifestyle and rebel.
If you really think you’ll die
early, at least die like a hero!

RENEE:
I find it less tortuous to live a
mundane life, which promises nothing
than to be promised a better life only
to have it snatched away. Don’t
you dare get my hopes again!

CURTIS:
Fine, have it your way.

He turns to leave but stops.

CURTIS:
At least with us, you wouldn’t
be alone!

He starts to leave.

RENEE:
Fine!

Curtis turns to look at her.

CURTIS:
Fine what?

RENEE:
I guess I’ll give it one more try.

CURTIS:
Thank you! Oh, you won’t
regret this!

RENEE:
Wanna bet?

CURTIS:
Yes, I do.

Renee raises her eyebrows as she takes a drag.

CURTIS:
I bet by the end of this, you’ll lose
all your reasons for being bitter.
Watch, you will come out of this
wearing brighter colors! You’ll
get a happy ending with a castle,
a handsome prince, and you’ll
live happily ever after.

Renee smiles in a way that clearly says, “Yeah right!”

CURTIS:
I was partly kidding, but I got you
to smile, didn’t I? It’s already a
little better, isn’t it?

RENEE:
What are you, a Disney character?

CURTIS:
Sort of. I sold Lion King stuff at
the mall.

RENEE:
Yeah. Well I guess when you’re around
kids, it’s hard not to share their hope
and enthusiasm. At the end, you’ll
see what I’m talking about.
(beat)
What’s your name, anyways?

CURTIS:
Curtis Stevens.

RENEE:
Renee Warner. I’m going to pack
a couple of things. I’ll need you to
hold my luggage while I go take
care of something…

Leave a Reply

