Forgotten Society, Part 3

INT. APARTMENT HALL. AFTERNOON.

The LANDLADY (a stuffy old lady) walks down the hall. She stops when she sees the butterfly on apartment 214. She takes it down and knocks on the door.

LANDLADY:
Renee? We’ve been over this! No
personal property in the hall!
(beat)
Alright, if you won’t let me in,
I’ll use my key! You can’t
hide from us!

She unlocks the door and is immediately shot in the heart. Renee and Curtis come out.

RENEE:
See how the eyes look glossy?
That’s a dragon. Another sign-
green blood.

ZOOM IN on Landlady’s wound, which is trickling green blood. ZOOM OUT.

CURTIS:
Oh, she’s a dragon? I thought you
just hated her and wanted to
off her.

RENEE:
Well, that too. Now that I’ve given
my notice, time to quit my job!

They both leave.

INT. APARTMENT COFFEE HOUSE. AFTERNOON.

Renee enters a small coffee house that rests by a big staircase in the apartment lobby. There are only a few tables and chairs. The counter is small, and there is not a lot of equipment. from the back room DANIEL (an olive skinned man with bushy hair and glossy eyes) enters and sees Renee.

DANIEL:
You’re late.

RENEE:
I’m sorry. My landlady died.

DANIEL:
Yeah, I bet you’re real devestated.
Well, put on your apron and get
to work!

Renee puts on her green apron and stands behind the counter. Curtis enters holding some luggage and comes up to her.

RENEE:
What can I get you?

CURTIS:
Can I get a blended mocha?

RENEE:
Sorry, our blender is broken.

DANIEL:
No, it’s not!

He tries to turn it on, but it does not.

DANIEL:
It’s probably unplugged. Did
you bother checking before
you refused this customer’s order?

He opens a cupboard to check. While he does this, Renee draws out a dagger. Before she can hurt him, she sees (via the reflection on the blender) three policemen enter. She puts her weapon away.

RENEE:
I quit!

DANIEL:
What? You can’t quit!

Renee and Curtis run out the door as the police head upstairs. Daniel looks at them suspiciously.

Leave a Reply

