Forgotten Society, Part 6

INT. REBEL HIDEOUT. NIGHT.

William, Miguel, Abdul, and Simpson are spread around the hideout looking distraught. Renee and Curtis enter. Everyone looks relieved but still sad. William looks especially morose.

MIGUEL:
Thank God you made it back!

CURTIS:
Did you think we got killed?

MIGUEL:
No. Listen.

They turn their attention to the radio.

NEWSMAN (OS):
…tonight in Georgetown. Julie Nalice, a
local student, was brutally stabbed. The
suspects, Renee Warner and an unknown
male accomplice, are still at large. Our
source says they may be connected
to our recent serial killings.

DANIEL (OS):
I saw them running out of the Morning
Star apartments right after the
landlady’s body was found.

NEWSMAN (OS):
We’ll have more at eleven.

Miguel turns the radio off. Renee kicks a stool in anger. Curtis sits down, thinking.

RENEE:
See! I told you shit like this happens!
No one calls you a hero when you
deserve it!

WILLIAM:
Just be glad you’re alive! We ran into
a dragon at this liquor store. We
drove it out of the store into an
empty street, and I managed to
kill it, but as he was falling, he
shot out fire at Smith. Smith is
dead. I couldn’t save her.

He hides his face. Renee’s mood softens. Curtis looks shocked.

CURTIS:
Does this happen often?

MIGUEL:
Yes. It’s war. Not everyone survives.

Curtis looks deep in thought. Everyone mourns the loss of Smith.

INT. REBEL HIDEOUT. MORNING.

Curtis wakes up and sees that everyone but Miguel is asleep. Miguel is cooking oatmeal in a pot over a fire. Miguel smiles at him when he sees him.

MIGUEL:
How’d you sleep?

CURTIS:
Alright, I guess.

MIGUEL:
I heard you talking in your sleep.

CURTIS:
Oh really?

MIGUEL:
Yeah. Renee bumped into you, and
you said, “Do you want a mug or a
deck of cards?”

CURTIS:
Oh. It was a promo at my old job.

Miguel laughs.

CURTIS:
I spent way too much time there!
Eight hours a day with no break.
Minimum wage too.

MIGUEL:
Ouch! No wonder you were excited
to join us.

CURTIS:
Not only for that; I believe in the cause!
(beat)
Why did you start the Rebellion?

MIGUEL:
Me? Well, I used to live with my
boyfriend, Josh. One day, he comes
home, and he acted totally different.
He used to be so cheerful and nice,
then suddenly he became mean
and belligerent. I noticed his eyes
were glossy too. The day came when
I decided to confront him. I found him
in the parking lot in front of his work
at the gym and we argued. I grabbed
his hand, and he took it away, which
ended up skinning him. I saw the
scaly skin, and I knew the real Josh
was dead. I fought him, and I ended
up killing him with my pocket knife.
Washington, who was part of an old
Rebellion, had seen the body, and after
we talked, I decided to start a new
Rebellion. Just the thought of that
happening to other people’s loved
ones was enough motivation for me.

CURTIS:
Wow. That’s horrible. I can’t imagine
having to go through that. But it’s
amazing you turned something so
negative into a positive!

MIGUEL:
Adversity brings out the best in some
and the worst in others. Most people get
destructive either to themselves or others.
Very few people get constructive. We all did.
Especially Warner.

Curtis looks at Renee, who stirs in her sleep.

MIGUEL:
When she was twelve, she watched her
parents get killed. That’s when she
first joined the Rebellion. Can you
believe that? I can’t imagine being
that age and…

Miguel sees Curtis checking her out and laughs. He snaps his fingers in front of him, which wakes Curtis out of his stupor.

CURTIS:
Sorry, I was just…

MIGUEL:
She’s pretty, don’t you think?

CURTIS:
I…
(beat)
I view her as a fellow rebel!
Totally professional!

William, who is laying with his eyes closed, laughs. He then wakes up.

WILLIAM:
(jokes)
Oatmeal! I thought I asked for
steak and eggs!

MIGUEL:
I’m putting you on a heart healthy diet!

William, Miguel, and Curtis laugh.

MIGUEL:
Oatmeal’s done. You guys can eat.

As they serve themselves, Abdul and Simpson hear the sound of food and wake up. Renee keeps sleeping while they eat. All of a sudden, she jolts out of her sleep with her dagger brandished. Everyone pretends to be taken aback by it.

WILLIAM:
Bad dream?

RENEE:
How’d you guess?

She gets up to go eat.

RENEE:
Before we go get the new weapons,
I need to get my car.

ABDUL:
We got it. We, uh, sort of hot wired it.

RENEE:
What?

ABDUL:
Don’t hurt me!

Everyone laughs. Even Renee titters.

Leave a Reply

