Sabotage, Chapter 8

“Look what I found!” Garith held up a dusty red CD player. He trailed behind Zartex and Carmen, all of whom hiked alongside a railroad that ran through a high desert mountainside. The ground was a dark brown and didn’t feel as sandy as they expected. The plants that grew next to the formations didn’t offer a lush landscape but still bore enough foliage that made this route less bare. The mountain itself was smooth and dark brown and gave the added benefit of a nice shadow that cast over the three of them as they walked.

Carmen and Zartex turned to him, and Carmen laughed, “A discman! I haven’t seen those since high school! It reminds me of cheerleading; I used to have one when I practiced routines.”

“Speaking of cheerleading..” Garith, who opened up the CD player, showed Carmen the disc inside. “Gwen Steffani’s L.A.M.B. album!”

“Ooh yeah!” Carmen sang, “A few times I’ve been around that track…”

Garith sang, “…so it’s not just gonna happen like that…”

Carmen and Garith both sang, “…’Cause I ain’t no hollaback girl!” They both laughed.

Zartex chimed in, “I’m familiar with cheerleading but I have not heard of this hall-la-back girl.” He peeked at the CD in Garith’s hand. “Love Angel Music Baby?”

Garith offered, “It looks like the CD player still works. Do you wanna listen?”

“Careful about this,” Zartex warned him. “If I get really into a song, I go into a sensory overload, which will pull anyone around me into my vision. It’s kind of like a music video.”

“Yeah right.” Garith handed him the CD player, and Zartex immediately listened to it. Garith conversed with Carmen, “You were a cheerleader? I thought you did theatre.”

“I only did cheerleading for a year,” Carmen stated. “I took a theatre class freshman year ’cause I thought it would be an easy A. I didn’t think I would fall in love!”

“That makes sense.” Garith shivered a little. “How are you not cold?”

Before Carmen could answer, Zartex started hum and awkwardly dance to song playing. “Wow, I didn’t know aliens could dance!”

“If you call that dancing!” Garith remarked. “Or an alien.”

“Didn’t you see his badge picture?”

“I saw the picture, but…”

“Are you calling me crazy?”

“No, no, no!”

“Do you honestly think I’m so crazy or stressed that I actually bought an insane claim? I saw his face! He can do extraordinary things that we can’t fathom!”

“Excuse me for being skeptical for-”

As a train sped by, the world suddenly stopped and morphed into something entirely new. They found themselves on a high school football field with half of the train passengers on the stands. The mountain still remained on the side of the field opposite of the bleachers. The song “Wind It Up” plays:

High on the hills with the lonely goatherd,                            Zartex, dressed as a nun,

lay-od-lay-od-lay-he-hoo                                                          appeared at the top of the

he yelled back with the girl and goatherd                            mountain and sung this

lay-od-lay-od-low                                                                      stanza.

 

Wind it up!                                                               Carmen, who stood at the head of a

Wind it up!                                                               cheer squad, summoned their

Wind it up!                                                              attention. Garith drummed in a

Yodellay, yodellay, yodel-low!                              marching band that formed around

(Yeah!)                                                                      the field.

 

This is the key that makes us wind up.                           The cheer squad began their

When the beat comes on, the girls line up,                    routine that flows with the

and the boys all look, but no, they can’t touch,             song. The marching band and

but the girls want to know why boys like                     a mascot, a goat, also danced

us so much.                                                            around them. Zartex swayed on

They like the way we dance, they like the                  the mountain.

way we work.

They like the way that LAMB is going ‘cross

           my shirt.

They like the way my pants, it compliments

          my shape.

They like the way we react every time

         we hear the…

 

Every time the bass bangs, realize it                           Zartex sang these lyrics.

it calls your name.

Let the beat wind you up and don’t

          stop ’til your time is up!

(Get in line now!)

 

Wind it up!                                                          The crowd, the band, Zartex, and the

Wind it up!  (C’mon)                                          cheerleaders all sang the chorus.

Wind it up!

Yodelay, yodelay, yodel-low!

 

You’ve got to let the beat get under your skin.                  Zartex sang this part.

You’ve got to open up and let it all in.      

But see, once it gets in, the popping begins,

then you’ll find out why all the boys stare.

 

See, they’re trying bite our style,                                       Carmen and the cheerleaders

they try to study our approach.                                         sang this part.

They like the way we do it, so original.

I guess they are slow, so they should leave the room.

This beat is for the clubs, and the cars go-

 

Every time the bass bangs, realize it calls                          Zartex sang this part.

your name.

Let the beat wind you up and don’t stop

            ’til your time is up!

(Get in line now!)

 

Wind it up! (When you’re ready)                                     Everyone sang this part.

Wind it up!

Wind it up!

Wind it up!

Yodelay, yodelay, yodel-low!

 

This is your moment. (Uh huh)                                       Zartex sang as every cheerleader

Come on, girl, you know you own it.                             but Carmen did a floor routine.

(Uh huh) You know your key is still                              The cheerleaders sang the words

  tick-tocking,                                                           in parentheses.

(Hell yeah) but you know they’re watching.

 

Get it, girl, get it girl, get it girl!                                   The cheerleaders pose on the floor.

Get it girl, get it girl, get it girl!                                   Everyone but Carmen sang as she

To the floor, to the side, to the back,                         did a solo.

but don’t let him ride.

Keep going, girl, it’s your night!

Don’t let him steal your light!

 

I know he thinks you’re fine and stuff,                       Zartex sang this part as Carmen

but does he know how to wind you up?                     finished her solo.

(C’mon)

 

Wind it up!                                                                    The cheerleaders got up, and

Wind it up!                                                                    everyone went back to singing

Wind it up!                                                                    and dancing.

Wind it up!

Yodelay, yodelay, yodelay, hey!                                As the song ended, everyone on the

field posed together, and the crowd

cheered.

 

After the song was over, the world shifted back into its original shape. The train, while a little farther than where it was before the song, continued on its way. Zartex, Carmen, and Garith, who were also further than they were before, still stood in the poses they had at the end of the song and started to become more cognitively aware, as if they got pulled out of a trance. Zartex scaled down the mountain. Garith figured out he didn’t have any drums in front of him and stopped motioning his hands like he was still playing the instrument. Carmen realized she stood in a way where she was doing a half split and winced as she got back up.

Carmen figured out pretty quickly that his phenomenon must have been the sensory overload that Zartex warned her about. This discovery made her calm down a bit, but Garith was still freaking out. “What just happened? Why did the world flip like that? How? Why?…”

Zartex jumped back onto the desert floor. “The energy beamed from my emotions and manipulated the environment around me. For a moment, my surroundings absorbed my energy and became part of my vision. I don’t think humans fully understand how powerful one’s energy can be!”

“I get what you’re saying,” Carmen opinionated. “Vibes can be felt and measured. Like, when I would go to certain houses, once in a while, I would get a bad feeling. Or, if someone is in a good mood, it rubs off on you and you can feel it too. I guess our intuition can measure frequencies our body can’t!”

” How come no one on the train is freaking out?” Garith probed.

Zartex informed him, “They just have a lapse in memory, like a mini blackout. You two remember the experience because I told you about it beforehand.”

“Lucky me!” Garith said sarcastically.

“Now, don’t go publishing about an alien’s presence on your news site!” Carmen warned him.

“I know that!” Garith snapped. “I’m a reporter for the world news, not a gossip rag!” He paused for a moment and apologized, “Sorry! I didn’t mean to yell. I’m sure you understand why I’m freaking out. How did you react when you found out?”

“I was too stunned to move let alone comprehend it all,” Carmen related. “Once I did figure it out, I just kind of went with it. Everything happening around me was so crazy that I guess an alien was the least of my problems!”

Zartex exclaimed, “Boy, that was fun! We got a little farther ahead with very little effort on our parts! We should do this the whole way there!”

“Please don’t!” Garith requested.

Zartex tried to play the CD but it wouldn’t even turn on. Carmen told him, “The batteries probably died.”

“Good!” Garith requested.

Carmen grinned. “Party pooper!”

Garith reacted fervently, “You call this a party?”

 

 

Leave a Reply

