The Obsessive, Part 12

INT. KORA’S KITCHEN. DAY.

Kora’s family is just finishing with breakfast when Kora walks in.

HAROLD:
We saved you some pancakes.

KORA:
Thanks.

MERNA:
We got a phone call. Someone
you know died.

KORA:
Of course they did.

Harold and Merna both look surprised that she is not surprised.

MERNA:
It was your friend from Seattle.
He lost his battle with AIDS.

KORA:
Oh! Oh no, that’s awful.

HAROLD:
There is something wrong with
you! Tell us now!

KORA:
You won’t believe me!

MERNA:
Try us anyways.

KORA:
Okay, well, I have a demigod
trying to take me as his bride
and kills anyone who stands in
his way.

Merna and Harold exchange looks of concern.

INT. PYSCHOLOGIST’S OFFICE. DAY.

Kora begrudgingly sits before a psychologist.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Tell me, Kora, who is our
current president?

KORA:
Ronald Reagan.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Good. Do you know where we are?

KORA:
A shrink’s office.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Do you hear voices that no
one else does?

KORA:
No.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Do you have any hallucinations?

KORA:
No.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Are you feeling paranoid?

KORA:
No.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
How do you feel most days?

KORA:
Fine as long as I’m not being
attacked.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Who’s attacking you?

KORA:
Some creep.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
A Greek demi-god?

KORA:
At least he thinks he is.

The psychologist writes some things down.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
Okay. Excuse me.

He leaves.

INT. PSYCHOLOGIST’S WAITING ROOM. DAY.

Harold and Merna sit anxiously. When the psychologist enters, they stand up anxiously.

PSYCHOLOGIST:
She seems normal, though whoever
is attacking her is not!

HAROLD:
Normal? But there’s obviously
something wrong with her! In
the past few days, she has
completely changed her personality.

The psychologist shrugs. A CRASH is heard from inside the psychologist’s office.

MERNA:
Maybe her mind is fine,
but her soul is not…

INT. CHURCH. DAY.

Kora sits defiantly as a pastor performs an exorcism.

PASTOR:
Satan, be gone!

Beat. The pastor grabs a vial of holy water.

PASTOR:
The power of Christ compels
you!

He throws the holy water on Kora. Kora finds it annoying but otherwise does not react.

PASTOR:
I don’t believe she is
possessed.

MERNA:
Are you sure?

Behind them is some stained glass, and only Kora can see Velos in the window laughing.

KORA:
Can we go now?

Merna and Harold reluctantly agree.

EXT. BAY VIEW RESTAURANT. DAY.

Julian waits at a table at a restaurant by the bay. Kora arrives, looking annoyed.

JULIAN:
Finally! You know I only have
like ten minutes ’til I gotta
get back to work.

KORA:
Sorry, my parents were trying
to heal my mind and soul.

JULIAN:
What’s that on your neck?

KORA:
That would be holy water. My
parents missed a shift at work
for this crap.

Julian looks slightly amused.

JULIAN:
Well, I have something that will
make you happy.

He opens up the library book back to page nineteen.

KORA:
Oh my gosh! I forgot!
(reading)
Deep in the Underworld rests the
Headquarters for the Order of the
Snake, a group that has existed
since the dawn of time. Named after
the snake that tempted Eve, the
Order’s soul purpose is to use magic
and manipulation to induce humans to
bring about the end of the world, when
they will be free to roam the Earth.

JULIAN:
From the sounds of it, I think
this guy is your stalker.

Julian points to the book.

KORA:
Velos!

The waiter comes over to them.

WAITER:
Hello, beautiful! Can I get
you anything?

KORA:
No, I’m fine.

WAITER:
Yes you are!

KORA:
Oh god, don’t hit on me!
Seriously, you have no idea!

WAITER:
Sorry, you’re just so pretty…

JULIAN:
Here’s the money for my meal.
Keep the change and get the
hell out of here.

The waiter raises an eyebrow but leaves. Kora stares at the bay. INTERCUT to the bay and CUT BACK to Kora.

JULIAN:
That poor bastard!

Andrew enters.

ANDREW:
Don’t worry, I’ll keep an eye
on him.

KORA:
Oh good, then you’ll have to
leave me alone.

ANDREW:
But you’re never alone, are you?

KORA:
Shut up!

JULIAN:
Kora, since your family still thinks
you’re unbalanced and you don’t wanna
sleep alone, why don’t you stay at my
place ’til this thing is over?

KORA:
Good idea! Thanks, Skipper!

ANDREW:
Skipper? Like Barbie’s friend?

KORA:
No. He owns a small yacht, so he’s
nicknamed Skipper.

JULIAN:
How do you know about Barbie
stuff?

ANDREW:
I had to buy a Skipper doll for
my niece’s birthday once. It was
super embarrassing!

Julian snickers. The waiter comes out and heads to his car.

ANDREW:
Looks like our potential victim is
on the move. I gotta go-unless you
wanna tell me-

KORA:
No!

ANDREW:
Then goodbye-for now!

Andrew goes to his car and follows the waiter.

JULIAN:
Very nice! Does he have a gay
older brother?

KORA:
What?

JULIAN:
Don’t be coy! I can cut the
sexual tension with a knife!

KORA:
Sexual tension? With him? You’re
crazy! He makes me so mad!

JULIAN:
Uh-huh.

KORA:
First he accused me of murder,
and now he won’t leave me alone!
I can’t tell him what is happening!
You saw how my parents reacted when
I told them.

JULIAN:
Alright, alright.

Kora looks out at the bay sadly. INTERCUT to the bay and CUT BACK to Kora.

KORA:
The ocean used to give me hope.
Now I don’t feel like I have any!

JULIAN:
Don’t say that! We’re a step
closer now.

KORA:
So, we know his name now. And that
super creepy group he’s a part of.
What does that do to help me?

JULIAN:
This guy is in love with your
soul. How do we stop this creep
from following you in this life
and next?

KORA:
I can’t die-he lives in the land
of the dead. So, what do I do?

Julian hands her a ten.

JULIAN:
Go buy some tequila and margarita
mix. I’ll make tacos and we’ll have
a fiesta for dinner!

Kora gives him a small smile.

JULIAN:
I’m late for work. I’ll see
you later.

Kora watches him go to his car and leave. Beat. A few police officers race down the street. Kora drops her head to the table in anguish.

Leave a Reply

