Temca Academy II: Child of Destiny, Part 1

EXT. MADAME FATE’S SHOP. MIDNIGHT.

A bat soars through the night sky and down towards the streets. BG-a row of shops whose signs are unreadable because of the darkness. The buildings are old but well maintained and the streets are empty except for the bat. The bat tries to fly inside an open window, misses, and hits the wall. He lays down in the street in a daze. The door opens, and a hand swoops it in. The light turns on in the shop, and all that is seen is two silhouettes. One is a stout, pudgy woman, and the other is a tall, thin man.

BABELSAMA:
I did it! It has been done.

MADAME FATE:
Wow, that was really fast!

BABELSAMA:
Ugh, I am so tired of you saying that!

MADAME FATE:
This time it’s a good thing! Now that is done,
we can begin phase two of the plan. Let’s go
to my place. I’ve finished cleaning, so I just
need my…supplies…

The lights turn off. A cat walks by, and a crash from within the shop sends the cat scurrying off.

MADAME FATE (OS):
You idiot!

BABELSAMA (OS):
You didn’t “see” that coming?
(beat)
Ouch!

Silence indicates their departure.

EXT. LEILA’S PORCH. AFTERNOON.

JOSHUA (brunette, slightly curled hair, gray eyes, medium toned skin, and in shape physique) comes up to a front porch. BG-a fairly large home with white paneled walls, blue shutters, and a door with a red brick archway. The pathway leading to the house is made of the same brick. The lawn is well kept and shrubs line the house. The white wooden fence has two balloons tied to it. Joshua knocks on the door. After a moment, the door opens and the sound of a dozen rambunctious kids greets him along with RAMONE (good looking, Hispanic, short curly hair, dark eyes, and a decent build). Ramone looks exhausted.

RAMONE:
Oh, thank God! Another adult! My wife thought
it was a good idea to play Fly Tag in the house!
(imitates wife)
Oh, they could fly over the fence and get lost
or hurt!
(back to normal)
Yeah, great, now their brooms are knocking
down all our furniture! I think your friends
are avoiding the chaos. I don’t know where
they’re hiding, but every time I try to look,
one of those imps breaks something!

JOSHUA:
When I find them, I ‘ll have them come help.

RAMONE:
Bless you! Come on in. Welcome to my
nightmare!

The sound of glass breaking is heard. Ramone runs over to the sound, cursing in Spanish. Joshua enters.

INT. GUEST BEDROOM. AFTERNOON.

BG-a fairly plain room with a bed, bureau, and a window. There is a couple of suitcases there and various items spread out. ANIELLE (good looking, fair skinned, golden brown eyes, and a curvy physique) sits on a bed with TOCI (sexy, Cuban, bohemian dresed).

TOCI:
I mean, can you believe that?

ANIELLE:
Um, yeah. Why not?

TOCI:
I don’t get it.

Joshua enters.

JOSHUA:
What’s going on?

TOCI:
Okay, you’re a guy, you tell me if this sounds
abnormal. I went on a date with Chad. You
remember Chad? He was in Anielle’s class before
she changed majors. Anyways, he took me to the
state fair, which I thought would be cool cuz I know
like ten places to sneak a little nookie in. But he just
stuck to the rides and games! He bought me a giant
pretzel and won me this mini dragon, and that’s it!
I thought maybe he just doesn’t like to do it in
public, but when he dropped me off, he kissed my
cheek and said good night!

JOSHUA:
(sarcastically)
Oh my God! What a jerk!

TOCI:
No! There’s something wrong with him!
He didn’t try to seduce me! I even bent
down and showed off my ass-nothing!

JOSHUA:
Well, that’s pretty normal. As a general rule,
if a guy respects a girl, he waits to have sex
with her.

TOCI:
That doesn’t make any sense!

JOSHUA:
We can’t focus on two things at once.
If we wanna get to know your mind,
we can’t think about your body. When
we get a sexy thought, we become pretty
useless.

ANIELLE:
Plus, he believes in waiting til marriage.

JOSHUA:
Well, there you go. What did you expect?

TOCI:
I’m making it my person mission to take
his virginity! It’s not fair! You two had sex
before you officially went on a date!

ANIELLE:
If you two almost die in a battle against a
notorious villain, then maybe he’ll consider
it. Hey, maybe Babelsama will even break
out of jail and try to murder you during a date!

JOSHUA:
Oh, don’t say that! I’m starting as Junior Crime
Solver this semester and I don’t wanna worry
about fighting his demons while I’m arresting
idiots. I know it’s a lot of tedious work solving
petty crimes, but at least I don’t gotta scrub
toilets to earn my tuition money anymore.

LEILA (OS):
Hey, wherever you three are, you better
get down here!

Toci leaves right away. Anielle starts to leave, but Joshua grabs her hand.

JOSHUA:
I didn’t get a chance to say hi.

ANIELLE:
(smiles)
You’re cute.

They kiss, and they leave the room.

INT. LEILA’S KITCHEN. AFTERNOON.

Toci, Anielle, and Joshua enter the kitchen, which has pretty typical furniture except for the table floating on the ceiling. LEILA (looks like Anielle but has darker hair, shorter height, and slightly more pudgy body) greets them looking very frazzled.

LEILA:
Thank you! It wasn’t easy organzing a
musical chair game by myself.

ANIELLE:
Where’s Ramone?

LEILA:
He went off in a huff after seeing
your friend, George.

JOSHUA:
Why? He’s met George before, and they
get along great.

LEILA:
Oh, I guess you haven’t seen him yet.
Toci, if you wanna leave, you can…

TOCI:
Why would I wanna-?

GEORGE (tall, athletic, dark hair, olive toned skin, and dark eyes) greets them while wearing an over-sized, gaudy sombrero and a mismatched poncho.

GEORGE:
Hole-la aim-ee-gos!

TOCI:
What the f-!

GEORGE:
Guess what I found out?

JOSHUA:
You like to do some psychotic drug?

GEORGE:
No! I’m part Mexican!

ANIELLE:
Just because you got lost in Vegas and
thought you were in Mexico…

GEORGE:
Actually, my grandfather hit a dog in Arizona,
right in front of a peace officer. When he asked
for ID, my grandfather spit in his face. They
did a background check, and it turned out he
has been living here illegally, so they deported him.

TOCI:
That’s awful!

GEORGE:
No, it’s awesome! My grandfather was a
mean old bas-!

LEILA:
Shh! The kids!

ANIELLE:
And you had no idea he was Mexican?

GEORGE:
He said he was Native American. I don’t
know why he’d hide it. I’m proud to be
Mexican! Too bad Ramone isn’t. I kept
calling him my fellow Mexican, and he
kept saying, “I’m not Mexican!” Then he
said he’s from El Salvador. I mean, you
can’t have it both ways!

TOCI:
El Salvador is a country. It’s in
Central America.

VICTORIA (Leila and Ramone’s two year old child) runs up to Leila.

LEILA:
Mommy! You said we were going to play!

LEILA:
Okay, everyone sit on a chair. You four too!

George and Toci sit down, George a little too enthusiastic about it.

JOSHUA:
Why do we have to play?

ANIELLE:
Because my niece wants us to play.

JOSHUA:
She’s two-she won’t even remember this!

ANIELLE:
Do you want this to be her first memory?

Joshua begrudgingly agrees to play, and Leila starts the music.

Leave a Reply

